Retreat


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Campeche
March 5th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes, I am back in Campeche for a day on the way to Merida - not sure I made the right decision - have been longing for Merida - in memories is a good city - lots of free activities, has tourists without being too touristy, intellectual and cultural without being pretentious, and relatively easy to get out of - except the location - flat with no water and that hit me on the bus ride today - the longest journey yet - had meant to take another route that took me along the water but instead took the same route as I had coming to Palenque which now seems a lifetime ago. I wonder how Merida will feel as I guess I am getting more adjusted to Mexico.
In Villahermosa decided I wanted time to be in the familiar but coming into the flatness, my travel bug hit me again and had the feeling that I was heading in the wrong direction - retreating into safeness and comfort. Still when making the decision, felt like I wanted to go to Merida but should push on on the adventure and how many times in my life have I not done what I felt was right cause I felt that I should be doing something else. (But then again, how many times have I retreated just before....) By this morning was dying to leave Villahermose - good room with intense sleep and deep dreams but there is a loud blue collar feeling to the city. I was out of the newer areas. Last night the power went out after a big rain around where the hotel was - ate dinner at a Mexican chain resto as it had power - was popular - had passed it several times earlier in the day, but like the North American big box restos it was overpriced with mass produced medicore food.) Earlier on the bus was thinking after Merida of going overland to the north, but then a movie came on (it was dark by then so I watched it) set in some dusty US border town with Mexico and I decided maybe not cause I like green. WE´ll see - plan to spend about 5 days in Merida again.
Bus trip fairly uneventful - all bags got taken out and checked by army once we entered Campeche state - getting more accustomed to that too.
Driving along swampy lowlands, had the feeling return to me that the Yucatan will be underwater or disappear in my lifetime. Had that vaque feeling leaving the pennisula, and initially on the narrow hotel spit in Cancun when I first arrived so the reoccurance of the feeling is kinda eerie.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb