Easter Sunday


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California » Tijuana
April 7th 2010
Published: April 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

MassMassMass

After mass was over, everyone went to go look in the empty tomb
Went to mass at the church nearby here in La Gloria. They had a beautiful scene set up with an empty tomb and a statue of Jesus with arms outstretched.

After mass, I went to a nearby community where I have a lot of amiguitos (little friends) to hand out Easter eggs with candy. The kids were pretty excited and it was great to see their smiles and laughter.

Then, went back to La Gloria and went to a birthday party for someone who I just met that morning (a friend of Uriel, who lives in the Esperanza complex with me). Minutes after arriving, we went up the stairs to enter the house and I felt my first earthquake!! At first, I thought I was dizzy, and then I realized everyone else was shaking and things in the house were moving a bit. Everyone was yelling "Bájate, bájate!" - "go down, go down!" It only lasted maybe 15 seconds or so but the 10 or so of us waited outside for awhile just hanging out. Then, we decided to bring all the food outside in case there were aftershocks... and then someone said "no, let's just do it inside"
Easter basketsEaster basketsEaster baskets

first time I've made an Easter basket :) it was quite fun putting it all together. unfortunately, i couldn't find any egg coloring kits here :-/
so we brought all the food back upstairs to the house... and then again someone changed their mind so we went back outside. Eventually, we sat down and had some delicious Mexican tacos (chorizo, carne asada, some other spicy meat... all with scrumptious guacamole).

After that, went to deliver Easter baskets to the kids in some of the workers' families. Some weren't home, so played with the kids at one house and then went with a friend to a movie - Un sueño posible (don't know what it is in English but the one with Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw about the true story of a football player). I'd recommend it 😊

Overall, a really good Easter... though, I will say I would have loved to be in STL with the fam!

Earthquake update: Monday night, there was a short few second aftershock. As far as I know, there has been no damage to any Esperanza homes or really any damage whatsoever in Tijuana.

Advertisement



9th April 2010

Sounds like a very nice Easter (except for the earthquake part). We missed you at home, though!

Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb