Cabo


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California » El Arco
February 11th 2014
Published: February 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Pelican PosePelican PosePelican Pose

Unafraid of humans, little Peli happily posed for a photo-shoot!
As the winter doldrums were just starting to kick in, I jetted off to Cabo for a little getaway.

Having paid for a non-stop flight to Mexico, one would assume I was flying non-stop to Mexico. Right?

However, once I had settled into the plane, buckled my seat belt and prepared for takeoff, we were all informed that there would be a brief layover in Corpus Christi, Texas, due to the "strong headwinds." Apparently we wouldn't make it to Mexico if we didn't stop to refuel! A collective grumble rose throughout the plane as we braced ourselves for a seven hour journey, rather than four.

Two bumpy landings, and a popped ear later, every traveler looked exhausted as we were ushered onto a bus to Royal Decameron, a resort that had just opened a month prior. We were welcomed with champagne flutes and chipper Mexican bellboys, and after a brief scan of the grounds, I was asleep in nano-seconds.

In the morning I was in awe at the beauty of the resort, and of Cabo. There were looming mountains dotting the horizon, and beautiful white sand as far as the eye could see. Much better
Humpback breachingHumpback breachingHumpback breaching

Awestruck, its lucky I even managed to take a picture.
to be walking barefoot through white sand than booted feet through snow.

On Monday we met two wonderful people named Mel and Alex who were both doctors from Canada. We decided to hop on a bus with them and head down to Cabo San Lucas, which is the very southern most tip of the Baja California Peninsula. The half hour bus ride took us through sheer desert, with long stretches of cacti and sand and not much else. We arrived at the San Lucas port and spent the next hour strolling along the beautiful boardwalk.

Every few meters we were heckled by relentless vendors trying to sell us absolutely everything:

"Hey man, I've got seat reserved for you guys een restaurant-ocean view."

"Hey buddy, you need tour? I geeve you boat tour for half price, special sale today only."

The sheer dedication and persistence of the vendors was impressive! The funniest of all was when we saw a sea lion about one meter from the boardwalk, swimming in the water. A man yelled to me,

"Hey senorita, you wanna see sea lion? I boat you to see heem for one dollar!"



He was literally trying to sell me a one meter boat ride! They'll try absolutely anything to make
El ArcoEl ArcoEl Arco

The famous arch of Cabo San Lucas.
a buck!

The rest of our afternoon in San Lucas was wrought with adventure, including finding our own secret beach for swimming. With perfect weather and two new friends, it was a glorious day.

Tuesday was spent relaxing poolside, working on my tan. Working on my tan consists of putting on 50 SPF every hour, so as not to singe my pallid dutch skin. I was perched beside a group of six women who were clearly intense sun-lovers. Every few minutes they would reapply thick tanning oil on their dark, leathery bodies. It was a constant visual reminder for me to re-apply sunscreen, as the last thing I wanted to sport was the tomatoe look. The peely tomatoe look. Not cute!

Wednesday was excursion day. We returned to San Lucas for a whale watching tour! We passed the famous Cabo Arch on our journey out into the pacific ocean, where we spent three hours following sightings of humpback whales. Apparently we were in Mexico at prime whale-spotting season. Sure enough, near the end of our excursion, one whale started fully breaching out of the water. I was in complete and utter awe at the sheer size of
Whale watchingWhale watchingWhale watching

Glam whale watcher.
him. After a few jaw dropping jumps, I managed to take some pictures. What an experience!

On our way home we stopped at Palmilla, which apparently boasts the most beautiful beach in Mexico, as well as contains the most celebrities in one resort (told to us by a local). Though I didn't spot any celebs (sigh), I did get a glimpse of the glam villas and walked along the spectacular beach, which was a decent consolation prize.

Thursday and Friday were low key days spent doing absolutely nothing but soaking in the beauty that is Cabo.

Rather than reading poolside, I would people-watch. By weeks end, I knew the lives, history, traits and personalities of half the resort guests! It was more interesting than any book could ever be. You can't think up some of the stories these people had.

It seemed I blinked and it was Saturday- time to go back to the cold and sn...I couldn't say it. I wouldn't say it. It was forbidden in my vocabulary.

I made sure to swim until the very last moment, giving myself about ten minutes to dry in the sun before changing and going to
Brace yourself...Brace yourself...Brace yourself...

Sea of Cortez
reception to go to the airport.

Luckily, the flight home was non-stop, and I slept the entire way. I opened my eyes to see the Toronto airport, and everything else that Canada has to offer in February. (I can't write the word...).

As I sit here reminiscing, I have the pictures and memories to go by. And most of all, the brown hands typing this are almost unrecognizable!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

It's another Cabo Sunrise...It's another Cabo Sunrise...
It's another Cabo Sunrise...

...Starin' slowly 'cross the sky.
Final nightFinal night
Final night

Final night in Cabo.
Keepin' an eye out.Keepin' an eye out.
Keepin' an eye out.

Peli keeps a watchful eye on local fishermen...


11th February 2014

Sounds like too much fun...
Were you there alone, Yen? Have you been able to say the s--- word yet? Are the Olympics a compensation for you??? Did you see any celebs? Oprah?
11th February 2014

Q&A
Wow lots of questions...no I wasn't alone, no I still can't say the s--- word, Olympics are a small help upon my return and nope, no celebs except the spectacular whale!
11th February 2014
Pelican Pose

Pelican
Don't knoe which is the more interesting background - the bird peeking out on the right or the "hombre" on the left ! (Was he trying to sell you something??)
11th February 2014
Pelican Pose

Hombre
Haha, I'm sure hombre to the left was trying to sell me fish...marlin to be exact!
11th February 2014
Humpback breaching

Humpy...
So you were saying this is probably a CANADIAN whale?
11th February 2014
Humpback breaching

Good nickname
"Humpy" is exactly what I called the whale too...
11th February 2014
El Arco

Arch-y
Beautiful!
11th February 2014
El Arco

Arch-y?
Arch-y eh? Someone's getting a little punch-y I think...
11th February 2014
Whale watching

Cruising...
Looks like you were on a cruise!
11th February 2014
Brace yourself...

.?
So who's the guy?
11th February 2014
It's another Cabo Sunrise...

Sunrise
So honestly, Yen: how many of these did you see??
12th February 2014
It's another Cabo Sunrise...

6 am
When's the last time you woke up at six am on a vacay? ;)
11th February 2014
Final night

Gorg....
Beautiful picture...
11th February 2014
Keepin' an eye out.

Peli...
I like the special effects you're able to do with your new camera!
12th February 2014
Keepin' an eye out.

CGI
No special effects here... thats the real deal!

Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb