Dec 28 Cabo San Lucas


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Again I was up at 5AM, I love watching the ship coming into port. The sun is not up yet so all you can see is the lights as we come in slowly to anchor at 6:24. Since this port is small there is no place to dock so we had to take a tender from the ship. We were anchored by the spectacular arched rocks of Los Arcos where the cool Pacific waters merge with the Sea of Cortez. This area was once attached to mainland Mexico. Millions of years ago a vast crack in the San Andreas Fault created the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific rushed in severing the peninsula from the mainland.

We left the ship around 8AM and I was very excited to see a sea lion as we came into the port.


This has turned into a beautiful resort town, with a large marina and white-sand beaches. The temperature here was 24c and sunny. Before we even got ashore I was wishing we had more time here to explore. There are many different things to do here, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, whale watching, and horseback riding on the beach just to name a few.


Since we had to be back at the boat by 1:30 we really did not have time to enjoy everything this busy little resort town had to offer. We browsed though shops along the marina while Leisa was on the internet.

Then we walked further into town looking for the famous Cabo Wabo Cantina founded by Sammy Hagar and serving his #1 hit Cabo Wabo tequila which is 100% blue agave and fantastic. We arrived at the doors just before 9 and we were drinking these lovely Margaritas by 9:15. I would like to say we had a wonderful day in Cabo but by 10 I have no idea what happened, the next thing I remember is standing in my shower on board ship worried about missing my lobster dinner. Warning, for any who travel this route, eat before you drink Cabo Wabo, and only have 1 small drink if you want to enjoy your day.

I know Ron had a lot of fun watching me when he had to hire a rickshaw or cyclo thing to get us back to the ship in time. Apparently I wanted to race everyone and encouraged the driver to beat everyone all the way to the dock.

Unfortunately I fell at a point that everyone argues and sprained my ankle which did not really affect me until later when I was free from the spell of that famous Tequila. Thanks to my wonderful husband (who fortunately can hold his liquor) I weathered this experience with only a sprained ankle.

After standing in the shower for 2 hours, I had a nap and ordered a hamburger from room service. I did make it to our last formal night and enjoyed my lobster dinner.

Cabo is a wonderful place and definitely on my list of places that I will return to.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Streets of CaboStreets of Cabo
Streets of Cabo

It is a beautiful place to walk and browse through the shops
Leisas picture with the LocalsLeisas picture with the Locals
Leisas picture with the Locals

Do we feel safe yet!!!
Cabo WaboCabo Wabo
Cabo Wabo

This one is for you Terry!!!!
The Start!!!!!The Start!!!!!
The Start!!!!!

Our first drink was a toast to Terry. I AM NOT SURE WHO WE TOASTED NEXT!!!
Inside Cabo WaboInside Cabo Wabo
Inside Cabo Wabo

I cannot imagine what this place is like at night
The rickshawThe rickshaw
The rickshaw

Can you imagine me racing through the streets on this!!!!!!
The End!!!The End!!!
The End!!!

I guess I was yelling Party!!!! Ron bless his soul was hanging on to me on the boat ride back to the ship.
Lovers BeachLovers Beach
Lovers Beach

It is around this point that killer whales can be seen as well as sea lions
The Damage.The Damage.
The Damage.

I nursed this trophy for about 3 weeks. Did I learn my lesson, probably not.


Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb