THURSDAY.


Advertisement
Published: August 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thursday! Soo…I just walked into the lobby and figured the internet would be back up. Guess what…it’s not. But I’m writing this post on Thursday…so I’m actually caught up for a change.

So I woke up at 6 when my family was getting ready for fishing, then I woke again around 9, then slept on and off til 11. I was planning on going to the pool around 9am, but I still felt pretty awful. I had a mix of dizziness, a stabbing stomach pain, a backache, soreness from the horse, and just feeling gross once again. I ate the ham & cheese croissant that my family had gotten for me, and I took it easy and wandered down to the pool around 12pm. The weather was actually overcast for once, so it felt pretty good to not have blaring sun for hours at a time. I managed to read all 200 pages of Johnny Angel (my favorite book) in a matter of a few hours. I felt pretty decent as long as I was lying down, so no complaints.

My family returned around 1:30 and joined me at the pool. The weather was still overcast, but the sun was still peeking out. And btw, I got greeted by a “Hola princesa! Princess. How are you?” Yes. The staff member that calls me that managed to locate me at the pool and tease me once more. I was like “Ha ha I’m good, how are you?” And he asked if I wanted a drink, blah blah blah, etc. And he found me again a few hours later and was like “PRINCESA, COME ESTAN?!” and I was like “ughhhhhh omg adios, por favor..” The usual.

So the weather cleared up (what else is new), and the skies turned blue and sunny for the remainder of the day. Around 4pm+, it’s been nice ever since. Nothing crazy happened…swam in the pool a bit, sat by the infinity edge, etc. OH! Yesterday I saw another cruise ship! I don’t think it was an American ship—it had those pillars at the top like the Titanic, but it looked really cool. Anyways. I went back to the room, only to find my key didn’t work, so I had them replaced for the 3rd time, showered, and got ready. I started feeling weird once again—I drank some more 7up and ate 3 small Chips Ahoy cookies (the food is limited in the hotel room), but I still feel iffy. My sister had crawled into bed too, so idk if she’s just tired or feeling sick as well.

I am SOOOO sore from the horseback riding--- it hurts to sit, walk, move, etc. I bruised up my knees, ankles, and inner thighs somehow too, so it’s just a lot of pain over here. I feel fine one minute, then I get a stomach ache the next, dizzy the next, then just gross the next. Again, idk if it’s a mix of the food, heat, or Mexican life…but I’ve just been feeling nasty and can’t put a name on it.

But yeah—these weird things were in the air today. They looked like bicycles with wings…I suppose. And they just were so ridiculous…up in the air! I have no idea what they even are, but it was entertaining to watch. I hope they had an experienced pilot up there…and the ants here! Oh heavens, they’re like… a third the size of tiny MD ants…which is good…but there are sooo many of them. They were crawling all over me today while I was laying by the pool. Not so awesome. But it’s crazy…mini ants, no squirrels, just colorful birds and hella pelicans and jumping stingrays. So awesome.

It’s currently 8:30pm (Cabo time), so after my brief 15 minutes of running up to the lobby, only to have half of a half of a bar on the crappy Sala Pacifico network, I’m not typing this entry in a word document in our hotel room. We’re about to head to the dinner buffet (tomorrow night is the final fancy restaurant), so we’ll see if I actually consume food…and if it doesn’t kill me. Ugh this sucks! It seems like people can never travel to a foreign country without catching a bit of illness. Especially Mexico. Everyone says “Don’t drink the water in Mexico!”, but I’ve been drinking hella agua, and I’m still kicking. Plus, it’s a 5 star resort. Everything’s pretty fine here. I guess I got too daredevilish, trying the foreign dishes just because they looked exotic. My apologies, stomach. I don’t know what I did to hurt you
So, we’re off to the buffet for now. I’ll let you know if I survived…


I survived! AND I finally have internet!!! We went to the buffet (it was Chef’s choice night), and I had some mashed potatoes, a tiny bit of salmon, a tiny bit of grilled tuna, a few fries, and a piece of bread. I had some cantalope (sp?) for dessert, along with a chocolate covered marshmallow, some lime water, etc! My stomach still hurts, but I feel pretty decent.

I’ve been sitting in the lobby since 9:50, and it’s now 11:10, so the internet has finally come to the patient people who have been in the lobby. It was entertaining to see everyone throw their hands in the air and have panic attacks and mini freak-outs. Don’t mess with people and their internet, that’s for sure! But yeah, thank heavens the internet is back! It would return on basically my last day here.

Well, tomorrow we’re planning on going into town again around 9am, then coming back to the hotel, hanging by the pool, going to the final fancy dinner, thennn pack and wake up, fly to Phoenix, then fly to Baltimore! I should be back in MD around 11pm-12am laaaate Friday night, but we’ll see how it goes.

More tomorrow!

Peace, love, & lit up towns in the mountains,

Melissa <3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb