Finally in the Yukon


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Whitehorse
June 12th 2010
Published: June 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

At last! I've made it to Canada's 9th largest Territory/Province (which is also it's fourth smallest). At 186,000 sq miles and with a population of just 34,000 (75% of whom live in the city of Whitehorse) it's somewhat sparsely populated.

I actually crossed the BC/Yukon border two days ago on my way up the Stewart-Cassier highway. I stopped off for a night at the third largest city in the Yukon - Watson Lake (pop. 846!). And then spent last night at a Government Campsite by the side of the Alaska Highway near the town of Teslin.

The Yukon is noticeably different to British Columbia. In fact, as I crossed a hill on the way north, there was a surprisingly noticeable change to the scenery. It's far less verdant this far north. There are far fewer varieties of trees, and they are significantly smaller than those further south.

It's also somewhat chiller up here. Even though today has been a relatively nice sunny day, I've still needed a jumper to keep warm. But then, by my reckoning, I'm only about 400 miles south of the Arctic Circle right now. It's not getting dark at night any more.

I've seen lots more bears since I last blogged - and a couple of them even waited patiently for me to take their photo, so that I can prove I'm not making it all up (as some people, who shall remain nameless, have been suggesting!)

Also seen lots of lakes, rivers & waterfalls. I'm having a day in civilisation tomorrow, pottering around Whitehorse, but then I'm planning to head off towards the Alaskan border again on Sunday to see more mountains & glaciers, and hopefully catch a glimpse of some Yukon Bisons.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Boya Lake Boya Lake
Boya Lake

With thunderstorm over the mountains and beaver dam in the foreground


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb