Problems in Dawson City, Yukon


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Dawson City
July 20th 2009
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Quick update. Very quick update. Internet access is very limited, but I will update when I can.

We are stuck in Dawson City for a few days, since I am having mechanical problems with my bike. My chain is shot, and I am lucky to have made it this far. My sprockets are shot as well. I checked these before I left, and they looked ok back then. But I can't change that now. The new chain and sprockets are being shipped from Whitehorse, and should arrive here in a day or 2. I can do the installation myself, I just have to buy a $12 socket. Total everything should cost about $230, which isn't too bad for a repair like this.

During this time, Derek and Adrian (our biker buddy we picked up along the way) are heading up the Dempster highway to Inuvik. I didn't really want to go up there anyway, so this is a good chance for those guys to ride that road.

Other than that everything is great. We have had our share of rain, but also some nice weather too. The weather is nothing less than unpredictable up here. The people everywhere are very nice. I may have internet connection the next couple days, but no guarantees. Pictures are going to have to wait until I get back home. Derek is posting some on his blog, just check my previous blog entry for his web site.

Anyway, that's all for now. Thanks for all your prayers and support. We have been very blessed to be able to take this trip.

Mike

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb