It only get more exciting each time you leave


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
May 1st 2010
Published: May 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

We are leaving in 6 weeks. This is not the first time I am leaving but I never been more excited. Leaving is a wonderful feeling. Leaving everything behind is for some people a hard thing. When you leave for 1 year or for an undecided among of time, you leave your friend, family, And DOG behind. You quit your job. You leave your problem behind, you stop worrying about the near future and what you should or were made to be according to your parents or whoever thinks he knows what people are made of and what are their limits.

There are so many people that tell you what you should do or be. Where you should work, what is worth trying and what you CAN'T do. Trust me, I hate every single person that tell every single person they meet their point-of-view on their life, what they did, what they should have done and what they can do. And for sure, there is never much they can do now. It’s too late.

I met a lot of different people in my life. Some where just not sure what they wanted to do and never wanted to step down, relax for a minute and really think about it. They had to try everything. They failed most of the time. I am in total admiration for those people. Failing is a really hard thing. Many people are never the same after failing. But some can get back to there feet and work their way thought life without any problem. I met other people that are still thinking about what they should do. They don't want to do something wrong. This is good. Only problem, they been thinking about the move for the last decade. I met people that were always on the move, they had to do something different everyday. And, I also met people that have the same problem as me. People that want to be in 5 different countries at the same time, do three different jobs, have a family but visit a new city every week and can chose where they want to work. BC or Québec both place are great and there are so many good reasons to leave but as good reason to stay.

I remember Mario, my history teacher in high school. One day, in the middle of the year, I asked him a very simple question. Hey sir, do you think I should study History at University? I'm I good enough? He answered. You know what Nick, you are certainly good enough, but there is nothing you can do with a history degree in Québec. This is the last time I though about becoming an historian. But, I love that class and was really good at it. I kept going because I like it, but Mario notice my lack of interest from the moment he answered my questions. And a month later, while I was in New York for the week with some friends and 3 of my teachers, he bought me a beer at the hotel and start talking about the great world at its largest expression. He told me about all his trips around North America. This 15 minute conversation changed my life. I never stop thinking about the great world like he once said since that moment.

Two other teachers made things that I will never forget. The first one is name Claude. He is an old hippy, who's still dreaming to wake up in the middle of the 70s each time he is going to bed. He travelled the world and for the last ten years he find himself in a classroom, he was sick most of the time (in fact, he was travelling Morocco in fact). He was spending half or more of his class talking of the world actuality and what he did in the past and what we can do if we want. I insist on the fact that he was always using the same sentence: This is what you can do if you want, if you don't want it, just enjoy the story and find something that will make you think in it. Something that will help you be a better person. This guy was great not only because his class was extremely easy, but also because he knew how to make people learn alone, somewhere else...at home. I am still thinking about some of the think we discuss and will never forget what he did for me. The last person is name Karine, ironically she is the one that sub in for Claude while he faking sickness to travel with his wife. She loved what she was doing. Only problem for her, kids don't like school like that much. However she said one thing to me: Nick I hope that one day you realise the huge potential you have. I am not quite sure I have realised, in fact, I am sure I didn't but I am still trying to.

In six weeks, I am leaving with the greatest girl in the world and my dreams. I am leaving the rest behind hoping to enjoy the time I have. Because there is only one thing you cannot control in life and it is time. It might be the only time I see a place or a sight. When I am travelling I want to experience it as much as I can. I will experience it, I am sure.

We will visit as much as Europe as we can and will go for sure to Morocco, Egypt and Tunisia. Hopefully more! We are planning on travelling for 5 months and work in the Alps for 4 months. And travel for 3 to 5 months more months.

Right now things are going find. We are a bit under budget; however we should find a way to make for it. Planes, trains and boats are paid for the first 5 months. We only need to make sure we have enough money to live over there and don't miss great activities.

Nick

P-s. I will post an Itinerary of the first 5 months soon. I will also post a Highlight video of last year trip.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.338s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 23; qc: 107; dbt: 0.1181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb