Over the river and through the air...


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
September 27th 2005
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday's rain was forgotten in this morning's sunshine. I decided to check out the $5.00 continental breakfast at my hotel this morning. I should have spent the $5.00 on something else. It made me miss the breakfast from the hotel I stayed at in Valletta.

I didn't have to leave for the airport until 2pm, so after breakfast I checked out and left my bags at the front desk so I could soak up a few hours of the sunshine. I decided to take the ferry across the river to Lévis, to see the city from a different angle. It's a really quick ferry ride--part of the daily commute for many people. On the Lévis side there's a little hot-dog stand, so I had lunch there--poutine and a hot dog with a single row of french fries along it. It was really good, and I was proud of myself for ordering completely in French, and not being spoken to in English. I opted to eat outside, instead of in the tent, but it was so windy my lunch nearly blew away!

After lunch I took the ferry back to Québec City and went up to Terrasse Dufferin for one last time. I've felt quite comfortable here for the last five days, and I'm sad to leave. Someday, I'd like to spend a couple of months here (September and October). It seems like an ideal place to spend an autumn watching the leaves turn...

Almost overnight, the leaves have started to change from green to their reds and oranges. It's still mostly green here, but on the way to the airport, I noticed more bursts of colour than I've seen the whole time I've been here. The flight to Ottawa started over green fields, then it was over shining lakes, and in bursts of colour in the forests. By the time my next flight left Ottawa, the sun was setting over the clouds, and daylight faded as I returned to the west.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

National Capitol from the airNational Capitol from the air
National Capitol from the air

Flying over Ottawa at dusk, it's hard to make out Canada's National Parliament, but it's there...


Comments only available on published blogs

16th September 2010
Autumn Leaves

http://www.travelblog.org/Forum/Threads/25940-1.html

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 35; qc: 131; dbt: 0.1266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb