Montreal Calling


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
October 20th 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Winter viewWinter viewWinter view

Taken from Ile St-Helène, Parc Jean-Drapeau in February 2006.
Ah, yes, I had to use the Mobile song title, didn't I?
Well, yes, Montreal was calling me. I had to return. And besides, it seems fitting to borrow the title from a band that was founded there, eh?

Although I grew up in Goshen, NY, it is the glorious city of Montréal that I feel I can call home. Nevermind I'm not there at the moment. When I'm homesick, I am actually missing Montreal. And hence those of you from Goshen have a hint as to why my spelling looks so funny and why I say "eh?".
So last weekend I went up to Montreal on a last minute trip. And it was a blast!
And I will return in November, once more before I head down under.

I have an ode to all my friends in Montreal. I won't rewrite it, but for those of you who are reading this, I am always thinking of you! And I miss you all!

And here are some photos of my beloved Montreal. And a random fact: on the Montréal tourism website, the logo has a pair of lips. Ever wonder why? Do a Google or Yahoo map search
Olympic Tower Olympic Tower Olympic Tower

The inclined tower at the Olymic stadium. photo credit: Sarah Hoch
and zoom in on the islands of Montreal and Laval. See it?

Another random fact: (one that most Montrealers haven't seemed to notice!) Le 1501 McGill College building, the one whose top 4 floors form a pyramid, is lit different colours during the year. Orange for Halloween, red & green for Christmas, purple in spring, etc.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Bonsecours MarketBonsecours Market
Bonsecours Market

Old Port, Montreal, December 2005
Look Up!Look Up!
Look Up!

Statue on McGill College, December 2005
Snowy StairsSnowy Stairs
Snowy Stairs

Rue Cherrier (lower Plateau area), December 2005
December ViewDecember View
December View

Artsy winter shot of the downtown skyline near Christmas time.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb