First time in Montreal!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
July 19th 2013
Published: July 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

From Brazil.....to Canada...and our first visit for us in Montreal. I have an auntie living here and few cousins....but the last time I saw them, I was the age of Tiffany. I may have been 20 times to New York, but I never reached Quebec!



So this time, we had to change this. We took two planes with our over 200++kg...and yes, not a single bag fee....ouf! First boring day flight to Miami followed by a short connection to JFK. From New York, I rented a car...which could fit all the bags...so no convertible or small size one this time, and we drove north. We first stopped south of Albany for few hours of sleep before reaching Montreal just before lunch. Crossing the border was a breeze...same thing on the return...this is not specially obvious...a single Dad with 2 kids...and a car packed to the maximum...on the way back, it's the first ever I had to show that I have permission to travel with my kids. Well, most of the time....they just go...hey guys...hat you do for a living with all those stamps in a passport.



We came to Montreal....to enjoy the two hottest days of the year...and therefore, some nice showers and thunderstorms late afternoon due to the heat. Our first afternoon was spent rafting the rapids of the Saint-Laurent river, better known as the Lachine Rapids. Price is reasonable, they advertise this as a 2 hours fun ride...well....it's more a single crossing of 20 minutes of rapids...and beside this...a nice swim in the Saint-Laurent. They also pack 12 people per boat...so don't ask me to call this rafting, we just spent a fun afternoon. And it's also the first time my guide never heard of the Zambezi...or the Nile....welcome to North America! Do this...for the fun, if you want to try two hours of ...urban rafting....just do not put your expectations to high!



Next, family time....we spent two wonderful evening... drinking wine and sharing great food with my Auntie and my cousins. Thanks a lot Donatienne....the last time I saw you, I was Tiffany age...we'll make sure next encounter will come way sooner! And it's fun to see how many things I have in common with a cousine I barely know...so much fun...thanks a lot Donatienne, should I say thanks a lot facebook! Huge smile!



We spent our next day exploring Montreal. This city is full of food places...how many years do you need to eat in every single restaurant here? I had to explain to Tiffany and Leslie....do not forget, this is an amazing sunny day...we have a great time, they think it's too hot....imagine what it is when the have 2 meters of snow...and minus...way too many degrees...



We walk a lot...really a lot...and we had an amazing lunch and afternoon with Nick, aka...yes, he do great pics on travelblog...one more TB encounter....Nick taught me two things...his pictures...it's thanks to instagram...Leslie should have a closer look to it...and Montreal...this is where they created Pespi. Thanks Nick for a great time...and make sure you finally catch up on your blogging!



Than by 4pm, rain came....it was soon time to head back for another great family time....before heading back next morning to the south.



I'm late on blogging...I know....and it should only go worst very soon.



So excuse the poor writing, I even guess the poor spelling. I'm publishing this in a rush...as time will...not be on our side the next few days...few minutes before our next flight...to the Old Continent.



Montreal....we'll be back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



22nd July 2013

We love Montreal.
Glad you finally made time for a visit. We love the Latin area of town.
24th July 2013

its a pleasure
Was great to meet ya.Hope you enjoy your quick visit in MTL. see you soon somewhere.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb