Montréal et l'accent québecois


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
May 13th 2011
Published: May 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 16Photo 16Photo 16

Montreal skyline view from Mont Royal
Hi everybody,

Last Saturday I got on my first bus journey here heading to Montreal to visit this 'ville quebecoise' and of course to see Cecile, my beloved friend and ex-flat mate from Toulouse. Two friends from Toulouse were there at the same time and so we could spent a lot of time together with Laurie and Emma. After a night out in the Village we had a pretty good lunch outside in the back yard. In the evening we went to an „impro“ (Quebec seems to be known for them), which is a kind of a theatre where two teams improvise a short play and the spectators decide after each session what team is best. Was great fun - although I had to get used to the accent there first, which is indeed different from any other French one (et il est même un peu moche en fait). What I really like in Quebec is that everything is bilingual, and so are the people! So up to you in what language you go a head... I love it!😉

When I arrived I first had to 'get used to it'. It was just so different from NYC. Altogether you cannot compare the two as they are pretty different as a city. Montreal is really calm (probably the calmest city I've ever been in terms of noise out on the street etc.). I was told that winter should be anything else than fun here as it gets freezingly cold and it snows a lot. That's why they also have their entrance doors on the first floor it seems, accessible by exterior stairs. NYC is on the contrary is a quite vibrant and dynamic city with lots of things to do, with almost too much choice actually... time to discover more of Canada.

So we will see what Toronto has to offer, my next stop. I got a contact from Cecile's friend Julie, who will be my host for the time here in Toronto. And in a couple of days I will make my way to the National Parks Banff and Japser on the Western side of the country, which means 2 days and 12 hours by bus! Woohooo.... I will stay there for a while as I found a quite nice ranch where I will be helping out for free accomodation and food in return (na, keine sorge... i
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

After a night out with Cécile and Laurie we needed a proper brunch the next day
wia de netten Läd ned oam fressn!lol). The family seems to be really nice, the 'jobs' anything else than bad and I will have the opportunity to get out on the horse every day! After checking prices for horse rides and tours here in Canada, this is the best deal evaaa! I can't wait!

Time now for me to discover Toronto and for you to have a look at the pics... enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

Cécile - so good to see her again
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Bagel brunch
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

the "snow" stairs
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

oh yes, this is what you think...
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Laurie, the hen
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

rue St. Denis
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

in the Latin Quarter


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb