Montreal


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
November 11th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Montreal
November, 2006

What is the old saying, 'you win some and you lose some'. I believe this to be a good analogy for this quick getaway to Montreal and Lake Placid.

Despite all my efforts, the city and I did not connect - even the weather was uncooperative! I walked around the city thinking about how soon could I leave instead of finding a synchronicity with Montreal. For the first time, I truly felt like a tourist - not a good sign while I'm on vacation.

Wherever I travel, I try to find time to visit the local botanical garden or park. In this case, The Montreal Botanic Garden, even in November a garden of this caliber is something to see. As with the city, I was completely underwhelmed during my visit to the Garden. It didn't live up to any expectation, considering its standing in the botanical world - I am so disappointed in this Garden. It is difficult to write such a review, as botanical gardens are well worth an investment of time and money. Perhaps I need to search farther afield in Canada to locate a better botanical garden; this one I would think twice about revisiting it.

Montreal shares some characteristics with my hometown of Philadelphia, such as a left leaning press, rapid secularism and an abundent supply of homeless people roaming the streets. Unlike Philadelphia, I was not able to find enough likeable qualities to counterbalance my negative impressions of this city.

Below is the sum of my pictures from Montreal - I had no motivation to take more.




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

TowerTower
Tower

A Montreal version of the Enterprise?
Towers of the WorldTowers of the World
Towers of the World

It still stings after all theses years...
Olympic PoolOlympic Pool
Olympic Pool

Pictured is our tour guide explaining the reasons why jumping into the pool for a few laps would not be a good idea.
Indoor StadiumIndoor Stadium
Indoor Stadium

The Montreal football team won a huge victory the night before at this stadium.
Montreal's FounderMontreal's Founder
Montreal's Founder

Apparently he was a mouseketeer.
Horse and CarriageHorse and Carriage
Horse and Carriage

Only in Montreal would carriage horses be equipped with a matching feather headpiece.
churchchurch
church

Not sure how long this Cathedral will last in this city..
churchchurch
church

Not sure how long this Cathedral will last in this city..
lamb to the slaughter?lamb to the slaughter?
lamb to the slaughter?

Perhaps in this city.


20th November 2006

Nice pics
You should have told me you were going up. Glad you did well there. Nice place isnt it.

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 21; qc: 95; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb