Another Centauri Summer


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Wellandport
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jordi and GavinJordi and GavinJordi and Gavin

July 5, 2008
My 7th summer at Centauri... and a pretty good one.

Just before camp, after returning from Honduras, was my friend Jordi's wedding. Jordi and I have worked together at Centauri for the last 7 years. Several camp friends were there. Beautiful wedding with all their own touches. They even had a french fry wagon as their midnight snack for all the guests, since Jordi loves French fries! Great time. Congrats to Jordi and Gavin!

Session 2 I was at camp to teach Dance. I had a FANTASTIC time doing this. I had 16 dancers between the ages of 12 and 17. We learned a whole variety of styles and presented 6 different dances in the styles of: Modern, Lyrical, Hip Hop, Breakdancing, Salsa, and Musical Theatre. They learned SO much and were SO fantastic. Talented group of dancers. It felt so good for my visions and ideas for choreography to be brought to life. I was very proud of them. We all had a riot.

Session 4 was a little trickier. I taught Musical Theatre for 17 campers between ages 9 - 14. I actually had the ENTIRE dorm of the youngest girls' dorm - all 9 of
Flower GirlFlower GirlFlower Girl

Julie and Craig's daughter Aislyn was the flower girl!
them! ha ha. Although very challenging to teach younger artists, it was also very rewarding to see what we could achieve in the end. We did a Disney Review with with numbers from Beauty and the Beast, Lion King, Mary Poppins, Little Mermaid, and High School Musical.

I always enjoy being back at camp. I predict I will return next summer as well.

For those who haven't heard, I am now waiting to set sail in September with Norwegian Cruise Lines, to be a part of their youth staff, running children's programs on the ship! I got the last of my paperwork into them today and should know very soon where and when I will be heading off! I'll be sure to keep you all posted! Cheers to another journey!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Popsicles!Popsicles!
Popsicles!

All the people at the wedding got these after the ceremony, outside the church. So very camp-like ;)
Jordi and her ladiesJordi and her ladies
Jordi and her ladies

BEAUTIFUL dresses!
Latin!Latin!
Latin!

These were my dance campers in session 2 - this was our costume for our Latin piece
'Mama I'm a Big Girl Now''Mama I'm a Big Girl Now'
'Mama I'm a Big Girl Now'

Session 2 Dance Program - Our costumes for our Musical Theatre Dance number
Dance Fusion!Dance Fusion!
Dance Fusion!

There were judges for a new dance show to premiere this fall. Daniel was 'Justin Imaflake', Jeanette was 'Gia Michaels' and I was 'Carrie Murphy'. The rest of these PDs were our guest performers!
Gladiators Ready!Gladiators Ready!
Gladiators Ready!

Some of us program directors, asst. counsellors, and cover counsellors (+ Director - Julie) dressed up as Gladiators to take on the campers!
'The Asault' 'The Asault'
'The Asault'

Campers had to hit our target. We had to hit the campers.
Making the AnimalsMaking the Animals
Making the Animals

Campers from my Musical Theatre program, making the animals for 'Circle of Life'
'The Circle of Life''The Circle of Life'
'The Circle of Life'

My Musical Theatre Alpha program campers in session 4
Me and AislynMe and Aislyn
Me and Aislyn

Man oh man, has she grown up! LOVES posing for pictures almost as much as she likes taking them!
Carol and I Carol and I
Carol and I

Once my camper (for many years), Carol is now on staff with me! NB: Aislyn took this photo... yes, a 3 year old who is obsessed with cameras and takes great photos!


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb