We're in Toronto!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
August 1st 2011
Published: August 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning we left Calgary. Boy! Was that ever hard! Lovely family! Grateful for their love and care. Grateful for just having them as family. Flight was a short 3 hrs. Kept busy with crosswords and reading the news. It was pay-as-you-go on Westjet but that was OK. Toronto airport not as magnificent as Vancouver but a lot quicker through the gates etc. Hotel Best Western Princess is fine. Best of all, it has air conditioning. Drive from airport long and slow - construction. Had an early dinner (missed lunch) and took a short walk downtown. Not a great first impression - beggar on the street, strange man shouting "I steal police cars" (he looked all red in the face and quite strange (poor fellows!) Then came upon a couple - the guy looked like he was a pimp launching one of his girls (very sad). Streets were a bit littered and there were several places where the stench was quite overwhelming. Stores looked scruffy. Sirens echoed around the high rises - police, ambulance and fire. Maybe we took the wrong turn. Tomorrow will be a lot better I'm sure.
Great to hear from you Leah - tell Clarry I said "Hello" and hope he recovers soon. I'm sure he is not enjoying being in hospital - I know that's not his favourite place.
Got the item you requested Peter. A bit pricey! Hope it's OK.
Russell, Mini, Timothy & Valentina - missing you. Love you.
Actually we miss you all.
I was going to send you some pictures from our last few days in Calgary but something is not right here on this system so I'll have to wait for the next stop.
Our love to you all
Mum/Pat/Granny & Ron/Dad/Grandad

Advertisement



2nd August 2011

Toronto Arrival
I agree, parting was hard this morning. Miss you both. It was great to see you holding hands as you walked away from us. I'm so thankful that Ron is in your life. I had a similar feeling to my arrival in Flagstaff after being in a loving environment at the Monroe Institute. There were people drinking, lots of yelling and I think I heard some vomiting. I went to bed in the dark in a room with 3 strangers and with a feeling of foreboding. The next day was better and after that everything was great again. It just seemed like a big transition from one environment to another. I'm sure everything will be much brighter for you in the morning. Love, Tim

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb