Getting Started


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
September 11th 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Quite often people simply book with tour companies to take the hassle out of doing the work of researching and booking themselves. And they are right. Doing your own research and bookings is a lot of work, but it is half the fun of going on the trip. No longer are you simply waiting for your departure day, there is contently something that needs to be done. By doing everything yourself, not only are you saving a ton of money, you are one hundred percent involved in your trip, and you will know almost exactly what to expect when you get there.

I'm here to explain my experience of planning a trip to the Middle East with my family. Of which all four of us had very different ideas of how they wanted the holiday to be run. Then I plan on writing about the trip itself, to see how closely we are able to follow our itinerary and how many mishaps we get ourselves into.

A bit about my background, explaining why I love the Middle East. I have my degree from the University of Toronto in Archaeological Sciences, with a special look at Middle Eastern Civilizations. Two summers ago I participated in an archaeological dig in the town of Madaba, Jordan. So my passion for the Middle East increased since then. However, I did not get the opportunity to travel anywhere else in the region, and I have been dying to get back.

My parents, my boyfriend, and I were planning on going on a trip together for Christmas. Probably a week down in Mexico on a resort, just to relax. I was originally all for this idea, but something in the back of mind kept saying, what you really want to do is go back to the Middle East. But every time this idea came to mind I would push it away with excuses, like its so far, too expensive, it would be hard to drag everyone around that region, etc. However, it kept nagging me, like somehow I was selling myself out if I only went to a safe resort in Mexico. How boring and normal. Trying to satisfy that craving to get back over the ocean, I thought what if we did a tour of Egypt only. It would be hassle free, keep everyone happy, and I would get to go back to the Middle East. I started to do extensive research on what tours were available and where they took people. There were many different kinds out there. From ones that felt like you were observing the locals from high above, with perhaps your nose stuck in the air, to ones where you were basically backpacking around on a camel. However, they all had one thing in common, they were all expensive.

I thought to myself, I could do this for a lot cheaper, and go to a lot more interesting places. I announced to everyone that this was the best course of action.

I got mixed reviews. My mother seemed a bit nervous, where as my father was a bit skeptical that it could be done, however, my boyfriend was quite excited as it was going to cost a lot less then the tours. As for me, finally that voice that kept telling me to explore the Middle East was satisfied.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb