In Ottawa at CTF


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
July 2nd 2014
Published: July 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Woke up later than alarm clock #1 and a little later than alarm clock #2. I saw a few familiar faces leaving Thompson at the airport like Todd Harwood, Steve Ashton, and Amy Ricket's sister. I didn't want to watch anything dark or disturbing on the flight movie, so I kept it to some family fun. Sonya Laing, my university friend, picked me up at the terminal. Time may change us physically, but she still has the same spunk. I was surprised or had forgotten how humid and sticky 80%!h(MISSING)umidity can be. We pulled up to the residence and one of the first people that I met was the lady that I will be doing my safari with. That was a very encouraging sign, and I had hoped and felt sure that I would meet her during the orientation since we were going to the same country. I had to hang around a while and keep busy while they were getting the rooms ready. I was feeling doubtful, wondering how they picked people and why I was chosen and who chose me. I felt more at ease when I met the team in person. They stuck me as very relaxed,

easy going, and most of all, enthusiastic about going. There was a yellow school bus that took us to the CTF (further reference to Canadian Teachers Federation). I was so anxious, nervous, and excited. There was a little fearful part of me that felt like a fraud. But once I arrived there, I realized that we were all in the same boat- a bunch of enthusiastic and motivated teachers. They had a lovely supper for us, we heard more about the background of the project (a little dry), and received our t shirts. It was a fabulous evening, and I felt a sense of this being the first stage for something bigger.





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb