Getting Ready to Leave


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
September 26th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I"m not sure if you can start your travel blog before you are actually travelling, but, as of yesterday (Thursday), I am so completely immersed in my trip that it is almost as if it has begun.

Finishing up last minute work things, deciding what to bring, adding addresses to my hotmail account, making lists and lists and more lists, starting to say good bye to my kids. (This is the only really difficult part; I know they will be fine, but still a very small voice in a small part of my overworked brain niggles away with "why are you going so far away from them? are you nuts? stay! stay! hold onto them!" but, I am learning it is possible to hold on and be away at the same time).

It is all the start to my adventure. To say I'm not nervous (very nervous) would be a complete lie. As my departure approaches, another part of my brain keeps saying: WHAT are you doing? WHY can't you be content sitting in your lovely apartment that is so new to you-spend the fall exploring your new neighbourhood. But, I know that is just the timid, scared part of me trying to overtake the itchy-feet/wonderlust other part.

I'm ready for this adventure-or will be in 48 hours! And, it is a wonderful opportunity, and I can't wait to explore Luang Prabang and try to sort out just what drew me back to this corner of SE Asia.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb