The journey begins...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Hamilton » McMaster University
April 22nd 2007
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Akwaaba! Welcome to my little corner of the cyberspace world. I will be spending the summer of 2007 working in Saboba in North-eastern Ghana with Engineers Without Borders. I will post more specific details as they become available. I leave for Ghana on May 6th after a thorough training in Toronto. Thank you all for sharing in this journey with me.

Bio: My name is Dan and I am currently a biology student at McMaster University. I was born in the United Kingdom and have lived most of my life in Canada mostly in Edmonton, Alberta. I have also lived in Manitoba and Ontario. I graduated from the University of Alberta with a BA (honours) in anthropology in 2004. From there I went on to work at a constituency office for Rick Miller, the shadow critic for Finance and with people with developmental disabilities until August 2006. I decided to return to school to pursue a career in health sciences. I love trying anything new and a big fan of the outdoors though I do not spend as much time as I would like outside. Other hobbies include reading, travelling, dancing and exploring.

The following is a list of websites to give the Ghanaians (and any one else) some links about Canada and the organization that I am volunteering with.

Engineers without Borders
www.ewb.ca

McMaster University
www.mcmaster.ca

Websites on Canadian History
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canadian_History
Fun Videos of Canadian History: http://www.histori.ca/default.do?page=.index

Government of Canada and Parliament
-Canada is a constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II acting as head of state. The current Prime Minister is Stephen Harper though it looks like there will be an election while I am in Ghana.
www.canada.ca - government of Canada
www.parl.gc.ca - Parliament
www.gov.ab.ca - government of Alberta
www.rickmillermla.ca - the MLA I used to work for

Places I have lived in Canada
www.edmonton.ca - Edmonton, Alberta
http://www.dauphin.ca/ - Dauphin Manitoba
http://www.myhamilton.ca/myhamilton/CityandGovernment/ - Hamilton (where McMaster is)

Advertisement



23rd April 2007

Good Luck - Keep Well
Dan, I have so much respect for what you are doing! This experience will undoubtedly further the already vast resume you are building. Good luck and God speed! Rick Miller, MLA Edmonton Rutherford

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb