After Working and Saving - Here I Go! . . .


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Dunnville
October 28th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For close to 2 years now I've been working on the cruise ships. And pretty much whenever I've been home between contracts I've been working. Tour Guiding, Teaching, doing parent presentations, and various other things that have come up along the way. Finally, after all that work and saving, I have enough money saved to go travel on my own. And tonight I am leaving - for South Africa!!

I've got nearly 2 months planned. Which seems like a long time. Until I look at all of the things I'm trying to do and I realize I'm barely going to fit it all in!

First I'm flying through Amsterdam and I'm going to have one day/night there. Not a ton of time, but still, I'm gonna see Amsterdam! In fact, that'll be where the next bed I sleep in will be. Crazy!

Then I'll reach Johannesburg. The plan is about one week in Joburg, then a 4 day safari in Kruger National Park, another day in Joburg, then I'll fly to Cape Town. I'll spend around a week there before starting to work my way up the East Coast, where I'll be stopping in various towns along the way. Sometime aroun December I'll reach Durban. And I'll take the route through the Drakensburg Mountains on my way back to Joburg before I fly home. My plans are less and less firm as the trip goes on because I want flexibility! There's so much to see.

And something very exciting too is I should be seeing quite a few friends along the way. I know so many South Africans from working on the ships and there are some reunions being planned.

So stay tuned for more adventures - this time in South Africa!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Parliament Hill at NightParliament Hill at Night
Parliament Hill at Night

(How gorgeous is this photo?!?)


28th October 2008

That sounds like such an amazing trip! Have a great time! Can't wait to hear the stories!
29th October 2008

wow jeanette, that IS a gorgeous photo!!! :) happy (and safe)travels. i will be thinking about you. wishing these adventures lead to your heart's passion. the canadians will miss you! :)
29th October 2008

Safe Travels!
Good luck Netter! Keep writing and I'll keep reading!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb