9 days later and the luggage turns up!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Baysville
August 18th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's been a pretty interesting week. Having arrived in LA on route to Toronto my luggage was deemed worthy of leaving in Melbourne whilst I blissfully sailed through the skies in an airconditioned tin can. But Ill save that story for later. I headed up to northern Ontario with the parents of my Canadian friends who were getting married on a fab promintory of land surrounded by a forest fringed lake. The bride rowed into shore with her Dad, much toi the surprise of the wedding party and guests. It was hot, but a lovely wedding.

The next day four of us (the bride, groom afriend and I had planned to get away by 9am to embark on an intrepid 4 day canoe and hiking trip. By 2pm we had managed to get in the cars and hit the road! Our destimnation was 3 hours awaty in Killarney Park. En route, we had to do a mandatory stoip at Tim Hortons, a Canadian coffee house institution. The three Canadians were pretty excited and pretty keen to have me sample the wares. Sadly, B didnèt realise I don't have sugar so a double double was ordered, which ÙI assume means double milk and double sugar. Hmmm...I think the Cnadians can have their ÙTim Hortons - no cappuccinos - what sort of coffee place is that??? Ok, Melbournites are coffee snobs - I admit it!

Due toi my pack having an extended holiday in some exotic loaction without me I had no clothes or camping gear. People had been very generous helping out, but I still needed eating gear. The only bowl I could find was a kids plate in the shape of a cat head with a cat face lid. In honor of a previously loved kitty I called it Tiffany, and we had a wonderful time topgether on the canoe trip.

The first night was spent on an idyllic little island with lots of lush vegetation and no bears in site! Watching the sun go down with a glass of wine and no noises of civilisation was wonderful. I must admit I has a few nervous moments hearing noises uin tyhe night and thginking 'I bet thats what a bear snuffle sounds like when they are foraging for food. But despite both L (my tent mate and I accidentally leaving food ion our packs, we were still alive in the morning. It would have been sad if our last words were: 'what the hell is the bear munching on??!!!'

Next update will be day 2 of the canoe trip and the joys (not) of portage.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb