Leaving Quetico, Taking Memories, Finding My Bed


Advertisement
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm heading back to civilization in an hour! It's about 10:15 and we are heading back to our pickup point at 11:00-11:30 or so. We have a 1:00 pickup scheduled, and as much as I have enjoyed this trip, I can't wait to get back. The only thing I'm not looking forward to is the last portage back up to the parking lot from Pickerel Lake.

It's amazing how much I think I've grown in during this trip. I feel like I did often push myself and did things that I may not have done if I were on a regular hike through the woods. But now I know I can do it, and that's an awesome feeling to have after a trip like this. It's very empowering.

It is also nice to look back and realize that despite all the complaining about the bugs, about the hard rock acting as a bed, or the fact that our face wash, shampoo, and dish detergent were all the same soap that I could get over it all and still have a fantastic trip. It just makes me feel like I can deal with so much more back in the regular world. I know I still may complain about a hard mattress, or a few mosquito bites... but I know it could be a lot worse and that I can definitely survive the worst. Survive and enjoy it all, actually.

That's not to say there aren't things I miss desparately. As much as it's nice to know I can get along without modern necessities and as pleased as I was that I left with a full battery on my iPod that I barely used... I do like my comforts back home. It's not so weird to really want a nice, cold bottle of water—I've been thirsty before—but it is a bit of an odd feeling missing a chair with a back to it. I definitely take that for granted. But it's understandable; there is no way I'd want to sit on stools for the rest of my life. There are other things I miss too, besides the obvious bathroom fixtures and indoor plumbing, but simple things like ice, or napkins, but not much else. What is weirdest though, was the things that I didn't miss. I really didn't miss the Internet, or TV, or having a dishwasher. Does that say something about me? I wonder what I would have thought I'd miss the most at the start of the trip, if those things would have included cell phone service or bathing without a swimsuit on. I think that would be very insightful about how, though in actuality, fairly little my life has changed but how big an impact that little change actually makes.

Which makes me all the more excited for my next trip. Whether that is to Italy or a trip taken before then, I can't wait to see how I can become a better person by opening myself up to new experiences. And yeah, yeah, that may be cliche and corny, but... isn't that what travelling is all about? The newness of it all? Even if you are looking for the similarities?

I will say that although I've had such a good time on this trip, and I've loved the majority of it... it's probably one of the few trips I've ever taken where I haven't wanted to stay at the end when it's all said and done. Maybe because it was a trip where there isn't as much personal time to be had, or at least, a trip where you feel like you can be alone for a little bit since everything seemed to be a team effort (either in making food or going places or setting up nomad campsites). And I need personal time, that's something I knew before going on this trip. Or maybe its because I feel like I got as much out of this trip as I can at this point, so its best left until I can come back and try my hand at it again. And I would like to come back. Maybe not for a few years, but I think this is something that should be experienced more than once. Maybe next time we can see the Northern Lights, and remember not to yell out "Moose!"

So I think this is where I'm going to leave things for now, as I get ready to leave our last campsite and canoe for the last hour of the trip. It's been good, and when I'm back in Naperville 20 hours from now or whenever we finally roll back into town... I'm going to be very, very glad to pass out in my bed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb