06 Far East Ride - Day 11 - NB to NS


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia
August 14th 2006
Published: December 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A Nova Scotia WelcomeA Nova Scotia WelcomeA Nova Scotia Welcome

A lone bagpiper welcomed all the visitors, she was cold but in good spirits and a good musician.
This is the 11th part of a series about my trip on my 2005 883 Low Harley Sportster ‘Effie’ from Kansas City to Novia Scotia and back. This was part of my vacation from 4 to 20 AUG 2006

MON 14AUG06

I got up at 7AM this morning and was packing the bike by 7:30. When I went outside there was a pile of towels on my handrail at the steps. As I am packing up the maid came over to say she had left those rags there for me to use to wipe off the bike if I wanted to. Effie was in sad shape. But I thought that was such a neat thing to do, I have never had a motel offer me rags for the bike before. I wet one of the towels and wiped off Effies lenses and mirrors. She said she used to have a 750 Honda but hadn’t ridden in years and missed it, so I encouraged her to get another bike. She said her husband had a trike and he was a wuss. When her husband came by for a chat I knew she was just kidding. This guy could have been
Nova ScotiaNova ScotiaNova Scotia

Wow I saw some pretty country on the ride to the trail.
a line backer for the KC Chiefs. His arms and chest were massive and it all looked like muscle. He stopped and talked for a while about the trail and the other riders that had stayed at the motel last night. We talked a little about my bike. When I told him it was a Sportster he asked me if it could do the speed limit. Man, HD has these guys so brain washed. Yes, you have to have 1450CCs to go 65MPH, it’s a well know fact, just ask any HD salesman and if you want to maintain that speed, you will need slick surfaces on your bike, so lots of chrome will also be necessary. He did ask me why I rode alone, so I told him it was because I couldn’t find anyone that could keep up. LOL

I was on the road by 8AM (CT) and headed toward the Cabot trail. I stopped at Toys for Big Boys HD on the way to pick up a New Brunswick HD t-shirt. I had been stopping a different bike/snowmobile places to find a pair of Rain-Off over gloves, but this was another stike out on that search.

The day was pretty uneventful. I stopped at the information area as I entered Nova Scotia and there were a bunch of bikes there taking up a rest. A lone bagpipper greeted the visitors coming into the center. In her kilt she was a little more than cold. On days like this I bet they wore something under those kilts. That information center should be the model that all other information centers should strive to acheive. More than just a information center, this place provided more thorough services like your own individual travel service. They could make all your arrangements right there for while you are in NS. The advisor that I talked with knew exactly where I could get gas while I was on the trail. The trail entrance is hours from the visitor center. 3 or 4 bikers came over as I pulled up and asked about Effie. One asked me if it was some kind of Buell. When I said no it’s a Harley, then he would not believe me it was a Sportster. Finally when someone on the other side of the bike reported that it was a sportster because of the air cleaner insert “883” he believed it. This is the second time the bike is identified only by its air cleaner insert. I guess I will be leaving that insert on the bike, I’m proud I ride a sporty and don’t want to be mistaken for a different bike.

One of the guys was looking for a GPS, so we talked GPSs for a bit as one of them was looking to buy one. I recommended the Quest, but as I am always quick to point out, stay clear of the Quest2.

The weather was misty, just enough you had to have the raincoat on if you wanted to keep dry and just enough so the roads were slushy. It was more than nippy. NS is beautiful. I pulled over several times for a quick photo. I am riding the Cabot from the bottom to the top. The hunk at the motel said to go this way around the trail so I am in the outside lane for pictures. I have gone less then 20 miles of it and it does have some awesome views. I pulled up about 6:15PM (CT - I have kept my clocks in Central Time). I was getting pretty depressed as it was wanting to get dark as the sun is low and I am on the east side of the hills - mountains what ever these are. I found I have traveled into yet another time zone change. I don’t know what they call this one. Its 2 hours later than CT. All the hotels/motels/chalets were filled (on a Monday night, not a good sign for the unreserved traveler) until I hit I think its “Christy’s Chalets”. The room was pricey for me at C$100, but the desk clerk had dropped the price $20. No TV, but a view that is worth $200. I can’t wait to wake up to this sunrise. It is 8PM, I have my log all done, I have downloaded the pics for the day and renamed them so now I am going to bed. I need to get a really early start in the morning.

The First Journal in this Series is: 06 Far East Ride - Day 1 - MO
The Route Map for the trip is located in the last Journal: 06 Far East Ride - Day 17 - HOME




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Christys Chalets, My Window ViewChristys Chalets, My Window View
Christys Chalets, My Window View

Is this neat or what. I watched a great sunrise the next morning.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb