The Sun Is OUT


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
October 3rd 2012
Published: October 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


It’s sunny!!! Yeh!!

Woke up to bright skies and watched the sun rise over the Mt. I am just outside Cape Breton Park on an island with not much but the campground on it.

First order of business was to take a walk on the beach, with sand. There are rocks but it’s mostly sand. There are sea gulls (the kind that know how to look for their food) and ravens and wind. It’s a perfect beach day.

Oscar ran and smelled and I took in the bright sun, wind and smell of salty air. How special a morning it is.

Since the sun was out I wanted to backtrack up the coast and see how different it would look without clouds. The wind was ferocious, I had to fight to keep Pennelope on the road. An hour later we turned around and headed toward home. PA.

I made one more stop and met a couple traveling in a Pleasureway they had rented in Vancouver, BC can you believe. They traveled across the Trans Canadian Hwy seeing the sights and after 5 weeks were heading home too. They live in Australia. I asked how they liked the van/camper and they said a bit snug for 2, but they’re still talking to each other so they passed the test.

As I drove down the coast , Gulf of St. Lawrence, I was being pushed by the wind. There was no noise as one would normally experience, just coasted along with great gas mileage.

By this time when we reached the causeway going out of Cape Breton Is it was getting late and I had no idea where to spend the night. I pulled into a rest stop and went through my books and maps and decided on a town Truro. I found a jewel of a campground called Elm Creek CG and settled for the night. It is on Elm Creek so Oscar and I got to walk along the water before it got dark. They have fabulous showers and really fast internet, YEH!

One lesson I learned today, don’t drive going west in the late afternoon. I’m NOT complaining about the sun but wow, it was brutal in my eyes.

We traveled 240 miles today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

lots of churcheslots of churches
lots of churches

You can see this steeple from 30 miles away


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb