Cape Churchill...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Wapusk National Park
November 30th 2010
Published: December 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

The bear season of 2010 has come to an end. The bears are still on land as the Hudson Bay has not yet frozen over, but hopefully it'll be frozen in a few days from now. The weather has remained mild for the most part, although there was a day when me and the boys had to battle arctic winds and low temps to do some essential maintenance on the lodge, all of us got some mild frostbite...! The town is quiet now, nearly everyone has left and most businesses are closed until spring.
There was some real good bear action out at the Cape. Great light and healthy bears! These are probably the last bears we'll see until spring. Enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Moving the camp.Moving the camp.
Moving the camp.

A 30 km (8 hour) drive to Cape Churchill in Wapusk National Park.
Arriving at the cape.Arriving at the cape.
Arriving at the cape.

Under the light of a full moon.
The Garage Crew in the Park.The Garage Crew in the Park.
The Garage Crew in the Park.

Rear - Tyler and Ron, Front - me, Jay, Reggie and George.
In case we got hungry.In case we got hungry.
In case we got hungry.

We were not sure how long this tin of stew had been here?
Julie, BJ and me.Julie, BJ and me.
Julie, BJ and me.

On top of the tower.


22nd December 2010

Just Browsing
As my comment title, I was just browsing looking for train trips in and through Canada for a possible second honeymoon trip and I came across your blog! All I can say is absolutely beautiful. What I saw on your site would be worth a trip during the summer. I, along with my wife could lose ourselves in your adventure. Being from the East Coast of Virginia, a trip of that magnitude would be a trip of a life time.. Thank you so much for sharing your life with us, and others who come across your site. Donnie L. White
12th May 2011
Early morning sparring

Finally started creeping your blog!
Hey Dave and Theresa! I am finally getting to scratch the surface of your worldly adventures and what I am seeing is INCREDIABLE! Hearing the stories at the Hospital doesnt begin to compare to the photos and the narratives. This will surely keep me very entertained while I work night shifts at the gym. Thanks for taking such an amazing and undisruptive approach to learning about our magnificent world but most of all thank you for sharing it with the rest of us! Safe travels where ever you are headed next. Cheers!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb