"Tonight Glenn sleeps with the birdses.."


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
February 10th 2007
Published: February 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello

I'm now in downtown Vancouver having crossed from Victoria this afternoon. The BC Ferry ride from Vancouver Island is really scenic and not dissimilar to those in the Western Isles of Scotland.

I spent exactly one day in Victoria having yesterday had an equally attractive voyage on the Victoria Clipper (Catamaran) from Seattle. Washington State and British Columbia are really nice places to be. I had a look around Victoria which epitomises "nice" though it was a short day as I went to bed ridiculously early. I think I'm getting all the jetlag at once (poor me).

My hotel room in Vancouver is on floor 26 of 42 which I find both exciting and intimidating but the view is undeniably spectacular, if a poor excuse for the cheesy title of this Blog.

I've just been to an "all you can eat" Sushi restaurant. It was really good. I must stop thanking the staff in Japanese as many of them are Korean. Pretentious?? - Watasi wa??

Will add more about Vancouver tomorrow.

Goodnight and take it easy - g.

Hello again - it's Saturday evening in Vancouver and I had a good night's sleep in my panaromic room and have had a constructive day even though the Villa got beat again - bring back David O'Leary (joke). Dunfermline also got beat, not entirely surprisingly. However Alloa beat Stranraer and The (Ottawa) Senators beat Montreal last night and look like doing the same again tonight.

I've added and subtracted some photos since last night and I like it better now with a few flags on display. This morning I went for a run in Stanley Park and then did my laundry which is always a good feeling (in both cases).

I had fish and chips for lunch and spent the afternnoon looking for a couple of nice presents but regrettably almost all of the gift shops I have found were dissapointing in terms of quality and I bought nothing.

I've had Suchi, again, for dinner and I shall soon go and have a shower and watch tv and write some pcs and perhaps retire early in preparedness for my marathon bus trip to Ottawa tomorrow.

Tomorrow I might try to make it to Calgary, or even beyond, as I head Eastwards towards the snow and ice which I have evaded thus
Empire Landmark  Hotel, Robson Street, VancouverEmpire Landmark  Hotel, Robson Street, VancouverEmpire Landmark Hotel, Robson Street, Vancouver

My room is one of those you see and is on the middle of the 26th floor.
far over the last few weeks. MIght as wellbe on a nice warm bus as anywhere else, could even do Ottawa in one (72 hour) go?

Vancouver is officially the best City in the world to live in (if not to buy gifts in) and I can see why. It's beautifally situated, has a good climate and everybody seems pretty laid back (with occasional riots when the Canucks get beat - they're playing tonight - here's hoping..)

Eastwards and onwards - Glenn - Vancouver B.C. (10/02/07)

PS - when I was running this morning I saw what I thought was a serious road accident near the hotel. Very serious!, I thought as police and other emergency services have been there all day. It turns out they've been shooting stunt scenes for a pilot show called?? "Virgins in Akron". I'd heard that Vancouver made a lot of money as a street double for other cities in lots of films and TV.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th February 2007

u lucky bas....
your kiwi mate here.vancouver looks a great place.is it your highlight city.now you know why kiwis mainly go to aussie for hols and not fiji.keep enjoying your trip.take care.paul and sara
11th February 2007

u lucky bas....
your kiwi mate here.vancouver looks a great place.is it your highlight city.now you know why kiwis mainly go to aussie for hols and not fiji.keep enjoying your trip.take care.paul and sara

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb