Culture shock, Canadian style.....eh?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
December 20th 2006
Published: December 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I am back home.........four months into my ten month trip. It was a hop, skip and a jump and I was back in Vancouver - just like that. Well, not really "just like that", I was in Nepal after all, far enough "in" that I was just hours away from starting an 11 day trek through the Himalayas. But now I was very unexpectantly on a plane taking me back to where I started this whole amazing adventure. As I started my four plane journey back to Vancouver, I looked out the window at Mount Everest and I daydreamed that dream of trekking through those majestic Himalayan mountains......so close yet so far. How quickly it all ended with one filthy e-mail of a girl on the edge - my poor kitties!!!! I still can't believe it happened, but like I told Jordan, you have to roll with the punches or they'll knock you out.


So many mixed emotions. I was ecstatic to see Stephanie and Calvin at the airport, I missed them so much, however, I was not excited to see the Vancouver International Airport itself. There was something very wrong with that picture. Out of all the places I chose to go on our whirlwind trip, Nepal was truly where my heart was at - it still is. I am sad and I miss Nepal very much.

For now though, Vancouver it is.


It is strange that all of a sudden people were driving on the right hand side of the road, there were no dirt, potholed roads anywhere to be seen, there was no livestock wandering the streets and everything was happening really really fast. I could so quickly smell entitlement and materialism in the air as I drove to the coffe shop at 5:30 in the morning - jet lag. On the way, some guy was yelling out his window at some other guy for cutting him off, the newspaper informed me of the killings that had been happening and of the crooked politicians and there was this not so lovely gentelman across from me in the coffee shop that must have been somebody pretty important because he sure made a big fuss that someone hadn't cooked his eggs quite right.

If I want to be really honest in my blog - I'm disliking it all at the moment. I am having trouble adjusting to this pace and all I want to do is get back on that plane. That plane that will take me to a place where there are no doubt many problems, but they are different. Problems that I have a much easier time dealing with at the moment than some of the egomaniacal problems you encounter in the Western world.

Don't get me wrong.....Vancouver is my favorite city in the world and I couldn't be more proud to be Canadian.....I just wasn't ready to deal with all things Canadian quite yet. My heart is still in those mountains in Nepal and on that train in Zambia. My mind is still craving the sights and sounds of the unfamiliar and I was unprepared to be ripped away so suddenly.





My song for Nepal: Easy Silence - Dixie Chicks


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



25th December 2006

Delayed viewing......
December 25th 2006 Crikey!... after all this time, ive managed to look at your blog. Incredible!... I´m going to have to take a week off to read it all. So magical that you´ve been having such a fantastic experience. Take care and have fun for the rest of it. Oops i forgot, im the very handsome English guy you both met in Plettenberg Bay SA. Safe travels guys! Jay.

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 18; qc: 94; dbt: 0.1061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb