It's a Travel Blog, Fun to watch.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » YVR
March 6th 2011
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

TRU LoveTRU LoveTRU Love

This best describes how I feel about you visiting my blog.
And so it begins. I apologize in advance for any time of yours which you feel has been waisted by visiting, reading, or investing any amount of yourself into the following blog. Complaints can be filed and will be reviewed at the following adress:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=500136283

Successfully flew into YVR yesterday and spent the entire night listening to podcasts, doing homework, and downloading an excessive amount of music. For the record the two new podcasts I have began following are Walking the Room and Sklarbro Country. If you have any desire to listen to sports podcasts or just hilarious banter these are required listening and highly suggested.
As my crew all found there way out last night into the vast Vancouver night life I lay, as stated, stranded in my hotel room too hungover to get up let alone imagine consuming more alcohol. This led me to ordering in Chinese food and experiencing the strangest delivery ordeal of my life. The following large paragraph is completely concerned with the awkward and ultimately rewarding food delivery experience I lived through last night.
I heard a rap at the door and excitedly got up to get my chinese food. Upon ordering I let the restaurant know that I was at a hotel and in fact didn't have a plate or any utensils, they promised providing the requested items wouldn't be a problem. Upon reaching for MY food which I had previously paid for via credit card the young delivery man proved true to his quick ancestral roots and moved the bag away from me. There was a moment where we locked eyes due to the confusion I was experiencing. Was this man not here to deliver the food I had ordered? Was this some sort of challenge where I had to complete some sort of task in order to obtain the food which I had paid for? I reached again and again the bag was promptly moved out of reach. This time the moving of the food was followed by a quick short bow and a prompt, "sank -you". After another moment of awkwardness I another quick bow followed the words, "come in prease". Due to my educational experience at TRU I was able to comprehend and stepped aside as the man entered my hotel room. Within seconds he had opened my order, set up my knife and fork, opened and poured my ice-tea into a cup with ice he had brought with him. Needless to say I was stunned. He quickly stepped outside my hotel room, bowed again, and said, "sank-you" with an extended hand. I was floored, quickly grabbed a $10 set it in his palm and he was on his way.
Our travel partners seem to be stellar. Trent is on the national downhill bike team and managed to find a spin class in Van at 8 in the a.m. claiming to have left a puddle of Guinness on the floor rather than sweat due the mass consumption which had occurred the night before.
10 hours aboard AC to London followed by a 6 hour flight and then a 5 hour flight and then we arrive at Georgia on Monday. I'll be keeping notes of things which are funny/mind blowing/ disturbing/ comical in order to make the second post much more accomplished than this, the first.
Stof and I have already started a new game to increase the people watching aspect of travel;
"Small Asian child cuddling a vacuum while walking down robson.....fun to watch".
"Eifel tower atop your head as a hair style choice....fun to watch".
The pause is key as it allows you to lend yourself to a very serious tone.
See ya on the other side of the world.



Advertisement



6th March 2011

Fun to watch!
Poor bachelorette rejected by a man in a very committed relationship........ fun to watch
6th March 2011

Podcast
Hey bud. If you're looking for another comedy podcast my favourite one is Two Jacks in The Hole. Have a great time on your trip.
6th March 2011

Complaints
I lose. Tell that to the facebook page.
6th March 2011

like

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb