New Zealand trip August 2011


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Only 11 days to go until I leave for the South Island of New Zealand! One of the most exciting parts of any trip that I do is the preparation and research. It is so much fun to get out the map and plan your route and think about all of the things that you will see and do.

I guess that is why I became a travel agent. Even if I am not the one who is travelling then at least I can help someone else realize their dreams.

I've pretty much decided what to pack since it will be winter in August and we plan to do lot's of outdoor activies. My well worn and much loved hiking boots, warm sweaters and vests and at least one nice outfit for fancy dinners or perhaps a night out in one of the local night spots.

Part of my research was to check out the local slang and phrases. That is how I came up with my blogger name "Kiwi Wop Wops". Kiwi of course refers to New Zealands flightless bird and some types are already on the endangered species list. Wop Wops is slang for off the beaten track, out of the way locations.

Some of my other favourite sayings are:
Ta - thanks
Sunnies - sunglasses
Snarler - sausage
Shandy - drink made with lemonade and beer
Scroggin - trampers (walkers or hikers) high energy food including dried fruits, chocolate
Pav - pavlova, dessert usually topped with kiwi fruit and creme
Lolly - candy
Greasies - fish and chips
Big Smoke - large town or city

And there are many many more!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb