Countdown to the Olympics


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » False Creek
February 2nd 2010
Published: February 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Won't waste time catching upon the last year, this trip is by far one of the most exciting things I've embarked on in a long time!

I'm currently in Vancouver at a friend's flat (bit of a college reunion, that!) and departing tomorrow afternoon to Whistler and the Olympic Village to begin my 1-month stint as massage therapist to the athletes during the Games. To say I'm a bit excited is an understatement! I am of course volunteering, so my accommodation has been looked after which is nice. I'm in a hotel and have no idea who I'm rooming with--methinks all the months I spent in hostels is going to come in very handy 😊

I've never been to BC before, let alone Vancouver/Whistler, so it's all very new and shiny. I've also not properly been in Canada for quite some time, and am thoroughly abusing such luxuries as the word "eh" and Tim Horton's in general. (Dear GOD, how have I made it without that sweet sweet coffee so long?!)

It's nice to be back in Canada. I really do miss it when I'm away. Having said that, I miss Scotland (in particular my rugby club) dreadfully and find myself torn as I dive into this adventure. I know better than to dwell and wallow, although I really hope I meet some erstwhile Scots during the Games.

I decided to kick this blog back up, as I'd quite like to document this as well as I can--really is a once in a lifetime opportunity to be part of the whole process in one's own country.

Thanks for reading, and if you've received this and aren't particularly interested, my apolgies. Just delete yourself off the mailing list.

With a glowing heart,

Sarah/Schaaz/Hammer

Advertisement



2nd February 2010

YAY BLOG!
I was just saying that I missed your blog updates. You must've overheard me whilst passing through Ontario. Good luck in Whistler, and hope to see you in March. Time to get some Scotch that hasn't left the country.
2nd February 2010

Go Canada!
Go Canada, Go Sarah! We are very proud of you - have a fantastic time.
2nd February 2010

Have a great time we are very proud of you.
2nd February 2010

Have a great time. We are very proud of you Love Juxx
3rd February 2010

Keep them coming! I always love to heard about your adventures!
8th February 2010

Go for the gold!
Hey you!! Happy to see the blog up and running and looking forward to reading the incredible experiences to come. How much fun I will have saying "my friend rubbed that person"! Whilst I watch our athletes. So proud of you wifey!!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.5kb