Keeping the Holiday Alive!


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Aloha My Friends,

After being home for a week now. I have started to get the post vacation blues... After arriving back in Vancouver and being greeted with dark, grey cold clouds and rain. I have started to be missing the warm, humid days laying on the beach in Waikiki. However; I couldnt bring that part of my holiday back to Victoria with me but hopefully our summer will eventually arrive....

That being said, I have thought of other ways of bringing Hawaii back home with me to remind me of my holiday. These are ways you can bring your holiday home with you, as I am just using Hawaii as an example since I was just there.

In no particular order


• Host a Luau or a Hawaiian Party for your friends and/or family. Themed parties are always fun. Everyone wears a Lei, or Hawaiian shirt... Have Hawaiian music, food, drinks, dance etc. brings fun times with great memories.
• I always try and bring local, authentic food home with me from where ever I have travelled to. I brought home local barbeque sauce, Papaya vinegrette, kona coffee, macademia nuts and enjoying these foods always reminds me of my holiday. However, some foods can not be brought back ie meat, seeds, fruit. So go to your local market and pick up what you can find that you ate there. In Hawaii, I ate lots of fruit, so papaya, mango, coconut, pineapple. Today, I just bought a pineapple fresh from Hawaii.
• Eat at a restaurant that serves the traditional cuisine. Hawaii's cuisine is Polynesian so I went to the yellow pages and searched polynesian cuisine. Or if there isnt a restaurant, make your own dish. There are lots of recipes online. If your not much of a chef, add pineapple to your hamburger, order a hawaiian pizza, put pineapple on your kabobs etc. Also, drink pineapple juice, or coconut water/juice. Pineapple juice and malibu is my favorite ;P
• Download or buy a cd of the music you listened to while on your trip. I want to learn how to play the Ukelele, so I am at the moment in search of one. However, if you dont want to pick up an instrument, then you can download music or buy a cd that reminds you of the sounds you listened to while away.
• Pictures are memories. Develop 4 or 5 of your favorite pictures of your trip and put in a picture frame. You will always remember those special memories. You can also have a picture night with your friends and family. Create an album or powerpoint with music of your favorite pictures and show them to your loved ones. Scrapbooking is fun!! Save all your airplane passes, receipts and memorbilia and get crafty. Scrapbooks are always fun to look back at years later.
• Plant a local hawaiian flower, grow aloe vera, plant a palm tree. Maybe even get a tropical fish tank and get some fish you may have seen when you went snorkeling or diving.
• Coconuts and tropical smells smell soo good. Buy some coconut body butter, soap, lip balm and smell like Hawaii. Buy candles that smell like coconut or tropical flowers, fruit and when you light it, all your memories will come rushing back.
• Keep in touch!!! Always important !!! Did you meet anyone when travelling? keeping in touch via facebook, twitter, email, text messaging, phone calls are always great because you can reminisce about your holiday together and maybe plan on meeting again ???



Hopefully your post vacation blues wont be so bad when you have all these fun things you can do to remind you of your vacation...

Cheers, Jackie - keakuki is my hawaiian name

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb