Horses.


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Crest-o-the-hillCrest-o-the-hillCrest-o-the-hill

An accomplishment, not a massive one, but still..
So, I made it, so far.

Quarda Island ain't seen nothin like me (they likely have). A cyclist full of crraaap.

My bike, she's a heavy beast. She rolls, and is excellent at picking up speed going down hill, but does not really climb so well.

Tuesday, June 24th, day one:
102km, after 4.5 hours of travel time. I camped just south of Nanaimo, in between two fields of very tall grass. Was exhausted, went to bed at 8pm, woke up at 5am. What a nice sleep.

Wednesday:
135km after 6.5 hours of travel time. Rode all the way up the old island highway to Natalie's place, in Courtenay. Had a wonderful dinner, drank lots of beer, had a jolly good time.

Thursday:
65km after 2.5 hours of travel time. Rode with Natalie to our father's place, on Quadra Island, off of Campbell River. I stayed there until Saturday, at which point Natalie and I rode back down to Courtenay, to hang out my brother and his partner in his new house.

Saturday night:
Had a wicked BBQ corn and chicken and wicked good salad dinner at Harry's and Angie's place. Then proceeded to drink
All smilesAll smilesAll smiles

And sweat.
copious amounts of more beer, have a jolly good bike-ride across town to a party of some old friends of Natalie and Harry's.

Which brings us to Sunday. Today, I had full intention of getting up nice and early, to catch the 10am ferry over to Powell River and the sunshine coast. I woke up at 7am, crawled out of my tent by 8, began packing, and almost without thought crawled back into my tent to go back to sleep for another couple hours. Bike touring isnt worth that kind of pain, especially when I have some time to spare. So, I'm going to be catching the 3pm ferry over to Powell River, to commence my wicked bike trip that way.

My weights, as of June 26th:
My weight: 180ibs.
My bike's weight: 37ibs of steely yellow hardcore bike.
My gear weight: 102 ibs. Holy shite. Why? Why do I have so much stuff? (included in that weight was a case of beer, groceries, and a few other extra peices too.. but still. Too much.)

Anyways, I must be off else Ill miss this ferry too. I bid you all farewell, tell me if you like this
"If you try to steal my bike,"If you try to steal my bike,"If you try to steal my bike,

I'll kick your face in."
new blog page. Im not sure yet how to align the photos, my apologies.

Tyler


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

CactusCactus
Cactus

On my sister's windowsill.
DarienDarien
Darien

This is on a hike I went on with my family whilst on Quadra Island. Effing beautiful.
SisterSister
Sister

Natalie, and a lake the lot of us went swimming in.
DarienDarien
Darien

Without clothes, by the ocean.
EvasiveEvasive
Evasive

A spider who did not want to have his picture taken, crawled from the ground, onto my camera, on to my shoe..
Spider 2Spider 2
Spider 2

.. and back onto the ground.
Dances with TentDances with Tent
Dances with Tent

Lowe and behold the majestic sweetness of yonder tentdance.


8th July 2008

confirming
Hey Ty Loved hearing from you! You are so precious. Love Mom

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb