My left foot.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Revelstoke
August 13th 2010
Published: August 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Friday …..my penultimate day.

Well the trip is nearly over and with it comes the reality of getting myself back home and resuming a normal life again. My last stop has been in Nakusp to visit the Horizons Unlimited meeting www.horizonsunlimited.com if you’re interested in motorcycle travel.
The ride here from Prince George was punctuated by a stop over just north of Falkland B.C. at a wonderful little resort on Pillar lakes. The further south I come the more “civilised” everything becomes with fast food joints, Auto dealers, recreation complexes and wineries. Driving through Vernon yesterday I was hard pushed to find someone that wasn’t retired. Most of the population here was going about their daily routine dressed in golfing shorts and tops and were living the quiet life. Coming from the wilds of the north into this kind of area brings reality crashing back to me. Will I be retiring in this manner in a few years? It’s such a stark contrast to the self sufficiency that I’ve been accustomed to over the last month I have to admit. Riding the bike out of Vernon on highway 6 I see houses named “Mi Casa’ or “Hacienda”, see wineries offering tours and fruit stands selling their wares at the side of the road. Am I having a mid life crisis in not wanting to retire like this just yet? We’ll have to see I guess. Right now I just need to get the Monkees’ song “Another Pleasant Valley Sunday” out of my head…….

Regards to you all
Nevil

Oh yes....My left foot.
I got a little over zealous on highway 6 yesterday while travelling the wonderful twists and turns that it offers over the 120kms to the Ferry and knocked my left foot off the peg on a sharp corner. A sobering reminder that too much fun can come with a price.
Also.....don't ride with your jacket open in hot weather. The wasp sting in the middle of my chest is now healing but itches like a b#**er!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



15th August 2010

Sept/Oct visit
Nevil Looks like you are almost home if not already. Not to rush you , but maybe a short visit is in order into the fall sometime. Doug and I would like to make a trip to the hills (Canmore ) for a chat , so let me know when would be a good time. Cheers- Bob

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb