part two of 'nearly at the two month mark!'


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It looks like all i have done in Van is drink. I have done other stuff! like, um, ah, oh! Had my girls football club dinner! That was fun but ok i lie, it ended up being a drunken night again. The Van night life really isnt that great though. It is nothing compared to Auckland night life thats for sure. Most of the time you dont even dress up. I love love LOVE that i can go to 'clubs' in my chucks! Makes dancing so much easier! Anyway Sharon and i went with Gabi and bryce, who are together and both Kiwi's, and also Sydney an Asian Kiwi. I'm so amazed at how many Asian Kiwi's live here lol. We broke out the Power Shandy (which i am bringing home and insisting EVERYBODY drinks!) and danced the night away to all my favourite songs.

The rest of that weekend was a bit of a write off. Except for Sunday night i met a very weird Canadian man. In short he was knocking at my door 11pm on a sunday night, drunk with a bottle of wine wanting to have a drink with me. He told me he thought i was amazing which apparently he learnt from a 30second convo we had had that arvo when i was leaving the house. His intentions were pretty obvious when he tried to kiss me straight away. I asked him if he thought i was some kind of slut, DIRTY OLD MAN, what a douche. I managed to send him packing and avoided him the rest of the week. ew.

Monday i had touch rugby again. love it! and then Tuesday coffee and cake with my gorgeous Holly before getting on the bus to my uncles.

Penticton has just given me amazing blue skies and sun. Its dry, being the end of the desert but relaxing and uncle Graham is spoiling me so that i get a good look at what Canada can offer instead of what Vancouver has given me.

I got here Tuesday night and so Wednesday i had a bit of a down day, went for a run and walked up to their local mall for a look around etc then on Thursday he took me firstly, to the local chocolate shop which is owned and run by this crazy, funny older Hungarian woman and her husband. Amazing shop and she is so smart mouthed and swears much! its awesome. She asked me what type of chocolate i like and i said i dunno, alcoholic. She pulls out a couple of special chocolates that she doesnt sell which were very alcoholic but so amazing, explosion of taste in your mouth. then she went to make out Mochas and my mouth fell further and further open as she made the coffee then smothered it in a chocolate moose then cream then shocolate sauce and caramel sauce and chocolate bits... i am coming home fat i swear. Couldn'y offend her though could i, i had to 'eat' it. I am so going back there before i leave! Anyway then we went up to Oosoyoos, a smaller town right on the edge of the Canadian/American boarder. We drove up some road to this rest stop that had amazing views all up 'the valley' into Canada and down into America and across the mountains in the area. he said its the longest unguarded part of the boarder that people illegally cross all the time.

From there he took me to the local winery which is owned and run by the local Indian tribe. I tried a few of their wines, which i have to say are just nothing compared to our New Zealand wines, and i tried their ice wine. AMAZING. Although it should be for $60 a bottle. I had never heard of ice wine but apparently they dont really make it in NZ because we arnt cold enough. Its when they freeze the grapes on the vine for four days at a temperature of -8 or lower and then squeeze all the juices which are so concentrated with the grape flavours and sugars and make this very sweet, awesome wine. Necter of the Gods. wow.

We also stopped at 'the cock and bull' for lunch. Cracked me up cause it was nothing like our cock and bull pub at home. More 'diner' style like all the places here. fab day thankyou uncle Graham!

Today, Friday, we have had a lazy day doing not much except lawns etc because tomorrow we are leaving for Seattle for the weekend. That should be fun!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb