Hells Gate


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Hope
May 2nd 2010
Published: May 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Rach and IRach and IRach and I

After playing kings drinking game
Ok, from now on, while I'm here in Boston Bar, I'm only gonna post one blog a week, for the entire week, I'll write everyday still, but I think if I do one every couple of days, they won't be very long. So, I'll do it this way.

Anzac day at home, but here in Canada, they don't have it, so while I was on my lunch break at work, I had myself a little minutes silence, that was about the best I could do.
I spent the whole day on the tram today for the first time, I'm getting to know the speech even better, so that's good, soon I won't need my book. I met so many people even a few from Australia. I did get asked by one person, why Hells Gate has an Australian operating the tram and telling people about Canada.
Tonight we played a drinking game called Kings, we had lots to drink and lots of fun, I stopped drinking when I felt that I either wouldn't have been able to get up for work or thought I'd be sick.

Today is my second day off and Diane had promised that she'd come and pick Alex, Rach and I up for the day to get us out of the house for a bit. She took us to a club called the Anavets, similar to an RSL in Chilliwack, where she shouted us lunch which was made by her sister and we all had few beers. Randomly, Diane asked us each for a lucky number, she took them and put $5 of keno on, there were five of us all together, so we had the potential to win $500. You can probably guess what happened, as soon as Diane sat down and started watching for our numbers in the first game, all five of our numbers came out, so yes, we won $500 so we all ended up with $100 each. After eating our lunch, Rach and I had a couple of games of pool, then went for walk to have look at a shop that Daine's sister was telling us about, it was kind of an antique shop, but it had lots of props from movies in it so we got a couple of funny photo's. The plan was to stay at the club to see a band that was playing that night, but Ben wanted to come in too, he could get to Hope, but Chilliwach was still another half hour away from Hope. So we decided to head back to Hope to the Gold Rush Pub, we had some dinner which was really nice and a fair few drinks, I was over beer, so I turned to my old friend, vodka and orange. Brian and his fiancee, Tara came in for a couple of drinks which was nice. We stayed at the pub for about two hours, where all up, including my dinner and about five vodka oranges and tip, I only paid $40. Bargain!!! After the pub, we went back to Diane's place, where were continued to drink and do kareoke. I know, everyone must think I'm a bit of a piss pot, with all the drinking I'm doing, but hey, you get that, don't you?! Ben, again he was high and drunk, came and sat next to me on the arm of the chair, where he lost balance and fell off, taking my head with him, I honestly thought I'd broken my neck. So stupid. We ended up staying at Diane's place that night, I slept with a hot water bottle on my neck hoping that it would make it feel better.

Brian picked us up out the front of Diane's place this morning, I still had a slightly sore neck, but thankfully, it wasn't too bad. I got out at res, so I could have a shower and get dresed for work, the Diane picked me up on her way through to work. I thought work would be starting to get busier, but so far it's pretty quiet as it's still the start of season. Everyone keeps telling me that it'll get really warm too and I haven't seen that yet, I'm still living with three layers on, I'm thinking everyone is lying to me lol. I can't wait for it to get warmer. We had a bus load of school kids come in today, when I say school kids, I mean high school students. Andrew and Nate took them down after Brian gave an introduction to Hells Gate and basically told them to behave themselves. While they were here, I took over for both Andrew and Nate to have lunch, so I got to bring them back up, lucky me. I was trying to talk to
Rach & AlexRach & AlexRach & Alex

After winning $500 at the Anavets playing Keno
a few them about their visit but I had a few of the smartass kids on the tram that wanted to ruin it for everyone else. When we were almost at the top, I was able to yell at them which felt pretty good, I must say. They started swinging the tram from side to side and then wondering why we bashed into the side of the airtram dock, stupid kids. After talking to Mum tonight, and after our pretty big night at Diane's, we all decided to have an easy night. Yes, it's the first night since being here that I haven't drunk. We all sat in the common room and watched Superbad, that to me, was one of the most painful movies I've ever had to sit through.

I'm used to the Upper Terminal now, selling tickets and talking to people, still things I need to learn though. Brian announced that I'd be trained for the Upper Terminal Assistant today, no it doesn't mean I'm in charge as Brian is always here, but if something happens with the tram, I'll know how to fix it. Thats pretty cool.

This afternoon Brian, Rach, Ben and I went into Hope to pick Kim up, Brian shouted us nacho's for dinner and beer which was nice. After picking up some food for her, we headed back to res for few drinks to welcome Kim. I scared myself though, I know that sounds funny. I've had enough of Ben getting high and drunk at the same time, things came to a head and I snapped, yelled right in his face, I told him where to go and stormed away. For the first time since I've been here at res, I actually enjoyed talking to Alex. He was feelin the same way I was so we pretty much had a half hour bitch about Ben. Andrew came in to check that I was ok, I love Andrew, he's so nice : ) He supported me in what I did and apparently after I left, he went off at Ben. After a bit of a chat between the three of us, Andrew went to bed. As I was heading to bed though, Rach and Kim came in and locked themselves in Kim's room with Ben coming in after them yelling and carrying on with Nate trying to calm him down. I yelled at him again to get out of the house, he eventually left after Nate practically dragged him out.

Today was a little weird between everyone, Alex had said something about last night to his boss and got back to Brian. He tried to sort things out. I felt that everyone was blaming me. Tonight when I got home, Alex and I kept to ourselves in the common room, Ben and Rach were avoiding us like the plague, so we just watched some tv and I called Jess and spoke to her for an hour and a half, time for a new calling card lol.

After an awkard start to the day, Ben was finally taking to me a little bit. I spoke to Rach and let her know that I had nothing against her and explained that I wasn't used to being around high/drunk people and I wasn't gonna put up with being any shit. She understood and seemed that things were ok again, yay.

Tonight, I sat down with Ben and also explained to him about everything, thankfully he listened and understood that I was a little uncomfortable being around him when he's like that, I'm
Jaws & RachJaws & RachJaws & Rach

At the antique/movies props shop
glad everything is sorted out and back to normal and everyone's friends again. Woo hoo.

Today have the day off with Kim. Alex has gone into Vancouver so it's just the two of us in the house. We had pretty lazy day, I did some washing and then Rach and Kim went down to the fire while I talked to some friends on facebook. At three forty five, we went to Elvis' for a burger then rushed back to get ready to go out tonight. It's Diane's birthday today, so we're going into Chilliwack. We went to the Anavets again, they had kareoke tonight, it was so much fun. I had a budget of $40 tonight, and with drinks being $5 each, there's 8 drinks. Nate had a big night, after about 4 beers he was pretty much passed out lol. We spent about 3 hours there, then headed back to Hope to the Gold Rush, where kareoke was finishing up. Andy bought everyone a shot each, Malibu for the girls and southern for the guys.

Nate, Danny and I stayed at Diane's place tonight, while Ben, Rach, Andy and Kim got a taxi back to res.

At seven thirty, Brian stopped at Diane's to pick Nate up as he had to work, Danny and I had the day off, so we spent the day with Diane and Rob. We went into Hope and saw the Rambo bridge and went to one of the lakes that we can swim at in the summer then to the Othello Tunnels, with were really cool. After spending the afternoon out and about, Diane drove us back to res where Danny had a sleep and I sat down in front of the tv. When I walked in, Nate was sitting there, which was a little weird, my first thought was that he was sent home hungover. He told me Brian gave him the day off though lol. Kim and I made some dinner then sat down and watched a movie with Nate. Everyone went into Chilliwack tonight so it was pretty quiet.

Well, thats you guys updated, I'll post another blog in another week or so.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Me & AndyMe & Andy
Me & Andy

Diane's Birthday Bash at the Anavets in Chilliwack
Ben, Kim, Rach & NateBen, Kim, Rach & Nate
Ben, Kim, Rach & Nate

Singing Journey
Me doing kareokeMe doing kareoke
Me doing kareoke

Singing after about 5 vodka oranges, I sang Pink's Leave Me Alone
Andy & MickeyAndy & Mickey
Andy & Mickey

Mickey, the bartender sang for Andy


1st June 2010

Heya Stacy
OMG Miss Stac r u actually working or r u on a drinking holiday lol. Sounds like u r having a very eventfull time. Glad your having fun. The big 40 is creeping up very quickly but the party has gone out the window (how did i know that was gonna happen) never mind Rhonda has organised a dinner at Mingara, there's about 30 of us going so it should be a really good night. Wish u were here to help me celebrate i'll make sure we talk about u on the night. Continue to have fun and keep safe. luv u oxoxox

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb