This is it


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Burnaby
December 31st 2010
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well folks, this is it. I'm officially leaving on Sunday. This will likely be my last blog before I go.

HOLY $#%@! I leave Sunday! That sort of hit me yesterday when I was saying good bye to my family. So today was spent madly packing and making sure I had everything I needed. I'd love to include my packing list, but the hardcore backpackers out there will probably all tell me I'm taking too much. And to that I say "I tried!". I really did. I probably went through and put back half the clothes I had originally planned to take. Not bad I think.

The real space is honestly being taken up by all the other stuff aside from clothes. The mountain of drugs I was prescribed in case I need them, as well as the standard "first aid kit" - gravol, tylenol, immodium etc. - and then electronics and accessories.

The most exciting addition to this trip (in my opinion) is my Olympus DSLR camera that I bought a year ago in preparation for this trip so I could make sure that I knew how to use it before I left. I've taken a lot of photos and while I am pretty comfortable with it, I have come to realize that I am by NO means anywhere near even an intermediate user. So much to learn!

In any case, I took a photo of the gear I'm taking all laid out on the spare bed so you can get an idea of how little I have to survive on for two months! In all reality I can get more stuff if I need it of course, so I'm trying to pack with extra space so I can bring home the 50 lbs. of wool Amy plans to buy (but probably won't have room for!). Kidding, I love you Amy!

So there it is, we leave at about 7:30 a.m. Sunday morning, fly through Houston and arrive in Lima about midnight Lima-time. Lima is 3 hours ahead of PST time so we lose a bit in our travel day.

Anyways, my spanish is horrid so I have downloaded some Spanish language tapes and put them on my iPod, I have high hopes of stepping off the plane and having such amazing language skills that I can talk my way through customs without a passport! But just in case I don't learn that much, the old time passport is already packed!

¡Adiós mis amigos, le ven en Perú!

Advertisement



1st January 2011

Leavin on a jet plane!
The first adventure is getting there! Take thousand of photos and never think twice about posting too many on here, we love em:)
16th January 2011

Happy Birthday !
We hope that you had a great Birthday , enjoying Summer on your South American adventure . We are a little slow doing everything these days { even sending out Birthday Wishes ! } . Do everything , everyday ; Carpe Diem n'est-ce pas . Lots of Love from MacKenzies' Christmas Tree Farm . Hobble and Crash

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb