July 22, 2009


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Lethbridge
July 22nd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 52. 14,615Km
Today was the first day I used the AC in the truck. Summer may finally be here.
I need to get the oil changed in the Dodge again so I needed to get to a descent sized city. Lethbridge or Medicine Hat were my destinations of choice depending on when I got going and how long I wanted to drive. Calgary was just too obvious and besides, I was there on the trip out. Leaving Sundre, Hwy 2 would have been the quickest route South but you've probably noticed by now I don't always take the fastest route. They tend to be boring. I got on Hwy 22 which goes right through Sundre and headed South. In places you can see the straight road as far as you can see. Something I have not seen since... well since Albert I suppose. The ground is hilly though and the mountains were teasing me on my right the whole trip. In fact they got closer as I got further South. After I turned East on Hwy 3 toward Lethbridge I started seeing wind turbines again. They dot the ridges of the land. I fueled up in either Cowley or Pincher
Hwy 22Hwy 22Hwy 22

a very straight road at times
Creek and asked the gas jockey hpw long they had been there. "Those ones about ten years, those over there just about a year". As I drove toward the second group he pointed out I could see some half erected towers and the crane waiting to finish the job so someone is happy with the performance in this area.
I saved the campground catalog I picked up on the way out so once again I was able to pick a campground and enter the address in the GPS. It's nice for the last few kilometers, especially when it's in town like this one. I got set up and started googleing pubs and oil change places. After I updated by missing blog entries, which I type and save each day or I'd never remember things, I got on the bike and rode to the Blarney Stone thinking I'd see what kind of curray dishes they had on the menu. Much to my surprise, an Irish pub with no curray on the menu. I was just about to order the beef dip so I could get some more good Albert beef while I was here but the guy sitting beside me at the bar said "wings are on sale today". Sure enough 25 cent wings. And the best part is the Pepsi was free so for $6.00 I had two dozen wings and 4 or 5 glasses of Pepsi. I'm glad I did'nt feel like hotdogs and salad again. I did toss $2.00 in the tip jar twice though.
At about 2300hrs this place was really hopping. A lot of good looking young girls were out tonight. Too young I thought so I pulled out my phone and checked with Google. Yup, 18 is legal drinking age in Alberta. Alberta and Quebec.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

what is it?what is it?
what is it?

there is lots of it and it has a floral smell
rail road tressellrail road tressell
rail road tressell

look at the size of that boys... Oh wait, wrong movie
Lethbridge siteLethbridge site
Lethbridge site

I think it's a municipal campground


23rd July 2009

Photos
Hey Cam, Your photos are awesome. I love the 360ยบ movie -- xo Karen

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb