Feeling hot, hot, hot!!!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
August 19th 2006
Published: September 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Downtown DubaiDowntown DubaiDowntown Dubai

Night view from my hotel window
I arrived in Dubai at 11:45pm with the temperature being a balmy 39 degrees Celsius....

Thank goodness for air conditioning!

I did not do much in terms of touristy stuff in Dubai - lots of sleeping, lots of catching up on world news (I actually had a TV in my room) and quite a bit of just wandering the streets.

It took some time to re-adjust to being back in a Muslim country after so long in Western Europe but I can honestly say I liked the place more with each hour I was there - apart from the 45 degree temperatures during the day.

I had a look at 'the' hotel (did not venture in), walked along the beach there, got a tour of the adjoining hotel by a young Indian engineer that I met on the bus (he was very proud of the part of the hotel that he had been a part of creating and, of course, was asking me all about Australian VISA opportunities!!!), wandered through the gold and spice markets, went to a shopping mall for a little retail therapy, caught the public water taxi across Dubai creek (me and 23 men!),
Dubai Creek IDubai Creek IDubai Creek I

The "pretty" side....
and went on a desert safari which consisted of 4WDing over sand dunes, dining in the desert (similar to the Berber camping experience I had in the Sahara) and some belly dancing for late night entertainment......that was about it.

During the desert safari, I met a great Englishman, Chris, who has been working in Dubai for 15 months. Between him and his work colleague from Pakistan, I managed to get a good insight into the health care system, employment regulations, the dreadful traffic etc....as well as some career counseling! Got to love a relaxing evening abroad!

Onto Kenya and Tanzania now.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Dubai Creek IIDubai Creek II
Dubai Creek II

The 'other' side
"The" Hotel"The" Hotel
"The" Hotel

Burj Al Arab from the beach
Desert safari IDesert safari I
Desert safari I

Cruisin' through the dunes
Desert safari IIDesert safari II
Desert safari II

A lovely sunset
Desert safari IIIDesert safari III
Desert safari III

Belly dancing. My English friend, Chris, in the swing of things. I have threatened to send this and other pics to his wife!!!!


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb