Reflections of the past


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DubaiDubaiDubai

Pictures along the creek...
I have travelled through Dubai Airport several times on my way to and from India or some other Asian country, but this is the first time I actually have left the airport and explored a bit more of the Emirate. The reason for this is because my sister has recently moved to Dubai with her family and so it is the ideal time to see a bit more and learn a bit more about the country. Of course the most important reason for coming is to visit my sister who I haven't seen in 2 and a half year and my niece of slightly more then 2 I have only seen on photo's too...

I have had a great time here, though the weather is sizzling to say the least, with temperatures reaching up to 43 degrees already... Summer must be unbearably hot... Hurray for air-conditioning!

Dubai seems to have become rather expensive to live in nowadays, at least I have gathered the housing prices have shot up. It also seems to be one big building site at the moment, with housing complexes, office buildings, hotels, a new over ground tram system and a lot more being put up.
DubaiDubaiDubai

And more glitter at the creek
One wonders what it will look like in a 100 years, will it be a green paradise in the desert or will nature reclaim what it has lost due to lack of investment and money? I picture a Bedouin moving through a ghost city with the skyscrapers sticking out of the sand dunes... But probably it will work out, tourism is only going to become bigger and banking is as old as the world, and since these are the two pillars Dubai is planning it's future on, it should on the whole be a rosy future...

There are still some older parts of Dubai left, mostly along what they call the creek... Here you will find a restored heritage village, the souqs, the old fort and some fine mosques all with a twin reflection in the surrounding forest of concrete and steel... You can still catch a glimpse of the past in the reflections of the future... On the creek, dhows and slender, modern yachts vie for your attention, again the old and the new are side by side... It is fascinating to walk around in this part of town because you can almost feel how much has changed
DubaiDubaiDubai

Entrance to the heritage village
in just 50 years, how much has been done and how much has been lost in the process...

My sister was graceful enough to show me around the place, taking me to see the Burj al Arab, the world's only 6 star hotel, where guests get flown in by helicopter, taking me to a wadi just over the border in Oman for a most refreshing dip in a natural spring and of course to the Mall of the Emirates, where Ski Dubai is located, the biggest indoor skiing hall in the world! I didn't go skiing, that will be for another time, because I will return, to explore more of this part of the world... Apart from all the sightseeing I have of course spent a lot of time at home with my sister and her family, fattening myself up on the great food served (in anticipation of my trip to India), playing with the kids and reading up on the history and culture of the region for when I get back here next time...

But for now it is time to leave again and move on to India...



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

DubaiDubai
Dubai

In the heritage village
DubaiDubai
Dubai

Old and new
DubaiDubai
Dubai

Mosque reflected in a glass highrise
DubaiDubai
Dubai

The flag of the UAE, flying above Dubai Fort
DubaiDubai
Dubai

The fort is surrounded by office buildings
DubaiDubai
Dubai

One of the souqs
DubaiDubai
Dubai

Dhows at the creek
DubaiDubai
Dubai

The creek
DubaiDubai
Dubai

My sister, Linn, her son Teagan and her daughter Zara on the beach in front of the Burj al Arab
DubaiDubai
Dubai

The Burja al Arab at night
RayenRayen
Rayen

Most of the wadi was dry
RayenRayen
Rayen

The whole family taking a dip
RayenRayen
Rayen

Water glistening on the walls of the rock
RayenRayen
Rayen

The goats also wanted to join in
RayenRayen
Rayen

Teagan watches as I contemplate diving in
RayenRayen
Rayen

In the spring with Teagan and Craig
HattaHatta
Hatta

Dam at Hatta


19th May 2008

nice
looks very cool
22nd May 2008

Economical travel from the Middle East
Hi I read your excerpt about your sister moving to Dubai and it was fun and interesting. My fiancee lives in Muscat, Oman. He is wanting to come to the states for a few months visit. I live in Texas, is there any recommended cheap route from the Middle East to the US? I've been checking prices and they just keep going up. If I find a deal from the US to Europe or the Middle East when I try it the other way around it's not a deal anymore. Help!?? jang

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb