A Friday in Al Ain


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Al Ain
April 14th 2011
Published: April 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Can you believe we have been here 8 1/2 months already?! Time flies. In about 2 months we will have completed our first school year here. Alhumdullilah! It was a rough start but we are all settled in. I am looking forward to coming home for a visit though, I will be arriving June 19. I am trying to make a calendar of activities for myself so I dont waste anytime. I will be in Florida I believe the 16th of July for a little over a week and will only have a few days in RI before I head back to UAE, so lets plan some dates!!!

Spring has arrived in Al Ain. These are pictures of Al Ain Paradise, which is a beautiful flower Garden. We went there after Juma (Friday) Prayer a couple weeks ago. Thats why Asiyah is dressed in her abayah. She likes to wear it, to the mosque especially because there is an older women there who gushes over seeing her in her abayah. (No I dont make her dress like this, and she doesnt were it all the time. Just in case thats what you were thinking 😊) We were a little disappointed though because the woman hasnt attended the prayer the last few times we have been there, and I dont even know her name, she doesnt speak English, I believe she was Egyptian. (May Allah protect her). There are also pictures of a newly built Mosque in Town Centre. Its beautiful. I just discovered this little city within a city behind the mosque, lovely place nice little restaurants and the musical fountains. Also pictures of one of the local fruit & vegetable markets.

Things are just about the same here my concerns these days are environmental I worry about the radiation from Japan. Reports say that it has reached the Middle East, but in low levels that are not hazardous to us, I dont know if I believe that. I am also concerned about the food. Since we do live on the Asian continent we get the majority of our goods from asian countries such as China & Japan. There is a ban on all fruits & vegetables coming from Japan. But I am thinking if we get contaminated stuff in the US and we supposedly have stringent rules controlling imports. I can only imagine what gets through here, but who knows maybe they are more strict here. The quality of goods here is terrible. I agree with Donald Trump when he says the United States needs to get back to manufacturing its own products because it makes a far superior product than China, more and more of US goods are being manufactured in China. Believe me if Americans have to deal with this inferior cheap crap they are not going to be happy. The majority of clothes, shoes, appliances, kitchen gadgets, Terrible!

Well thats about it husband is good, very happy. He absolutely loves living here. Kids are great. All is well Alhumdulillah. I will See you all soon, Insha Allah


Additional photos below
Photos: 88, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



14th April 2011
Juma-in front of the mosque

My baby girl. I CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON YOU! :) Me and you have to have a day to "hang." xoxoxo
14th April 2011
Photo 3

Hey, aren't those glasses working? It looks like you're seriously squinting darling. That's a beautiful garment btw :)
14th April 2011
Fruit Market

I Love the "786" one! :D
14th April 2011
Photo 10

How much are those avacadoes? See right there, the very first bottom box or are they pears?
14th April 2011
Photo 12

LOL sweety face :)
14th April 2011
Photo 13

ooooo Pretty! I LOVE FLOWERS are some of them fragrant?
14th April 2011
Photo 14

What's wrong with my baby boy, did one of you yell at him? :/
14th April 2011
Photo 15

Oh see now! You all made him cry, you probably talked mean to him. C'mon ova here Abdullah, Granny has lots and lots of hugs for you!
14th April 2011
Photo 16

Pretty Pansies.......aren't they?
14th April 2011
Photo 26

how pretty.
14th April 2011
Photo 30

Daisies!
14th April 2011
Photo 31

ooooo I love those but everytime I try to grow them they keel over or dry up and die! I suppose they need lots of sun so I had them on my deck last summer and still...dead as a door knob :(
14th April 2011
Photo 35

Prettyful! :)
14th April 2011
Photo 41

oooo that would make for a real nice wedding photo!
14th April 2011
Photo 54

Looks like ur saying, no let me see, where to next! LOL Nice picture, you look prettyful! :)
14th April 2011
Photo 56

Nice picture :) xoxoxo
14th April 2011
Photo 57

what's with the teeth? LOL
14th April 2011
Leisure Restaurant

sweety face :*
14th April 2011
Photo 59

My baby! :*
14th April 2011
Photo 61

oooooooooo
14th April 2011
Photo 65

so many of your photos of different places out there show lots of water, lights and color! I really like it :)
14th April 2011
Photo 69

love it :)
14th April 2011
Photo 70

He looks soooo facinated!
14th April 2011
Photo 87

WOW! :D
14th April 2011
Photo 90

I would be mesmerized LOL
14th April 2011
Photo 95

Great photos, thanks for sharing!
14th April 2011

squinting
Even with glasses the sun in BRIGHT! thanks about the Abaya!
14th April 2011

786
What that? where?
14th April 2011

Avocados
actually the same or lil more than the states! and not as good
14th April 2011

Abdullah miserable
He was hot & whinning and the last place he wanted to be was amongst the flowers
14th April 2011

Pansies
I think thats what they are
14th April 2011

Abdullah & teeth
I told him to stop looking miserable and thats as good as it got

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb