Back to School AND Lovin' It!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi » Jebel Dhanna
September 17th 2011
Published: September 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oh yes.....almost forgot...Oh yes.....almost forgot...Oh yes.....almost forgot...

...my sprained ankle AFTER a 21 hr plane ride....much better now....could be an old 1/2 Polish/Irish ladies ankle for all you know...yep, that would be ME!! LOL
Hello family, friends and strangers!

First week back to school with students is complete and I am LOVIN' it! I have been transferred to an all girls school, Khadeeja Al Kubra. Teaching Grade 4. A far cry from the all boys school that I requested but I really like my school, my co-workers, the grade level AND the girls are really sweet also....so an unexpected bonus.

An even better bonus is that I am only a 30 minute walk from home...a short bus ride....and/or $2.00 cab ride (when my arms are too full to walk...u know teachers...lol).

I have included some pics from my classroom (which I LOVE...don't neglect to notice the cool IKEA lamp in the reading corner...all the Arabic teachers keep coming in to my class to check it out) and my students. Also take notice of my 'new' attire for this year....an Abaya...lol. I have two actually, and will be alternating weeks to wear them. They are not so bad, since I can shower in the morning and put my pj's back on underneath...lol.

Enjoy...and stay tuned!! xo

P.S. I threw in a picture of my swollen ankle that I sprained during a
My classroom...My classroom...My classroom...

..Reading corner with light on
run the morning I left TO, AFTER 21hrs on two different flights


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Students desks and computer centerStudents desks and computer center
Students desks and computer center

..also just got my own "Smart Board" in the class...can't wait to use it lots
White boards....White boards....
White boards....

...I worked ALL last weekends setting all of this up
Behaviour Management area...Behaviour Management area...
Behaviour Management area...

...three STOPS and you're OUT...lol...kinda like baseball
Our Classroom Door..Our Classroom Door..
Our Classroom Door..

...gotta thank Mrs. Zamora (Steve's Mom) for all the cool letter stencils. Man they have come in handy!
My new attire...lolMy new attire...lol
My new attire...lol

Al salama alakum (Welcome in Arabic)
Outside my classroom...Outside my classroom...
Outside my classroom...

....centers for use for all Grade 4 & 5's
ALLthe walls are painted ...ALLthe walls are painted ...
ALLthe walls are painted ...

...with murals similar to this throughout the school..kinda tacky...but it is the UAE...lol
My girls...My girls...
My girls...

FUN bunch!
These two will be trouble....These two will be trouble....
These two will be trouble....

...I can already tell...lol
Sweeties....Sweeties....
Sweeties....

...they seem to stick together


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb