Ceylan to Iskanderun (on the med and coughing)


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
December 23rd 2006
Published: February 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Another day on the bike.

In agreeing to do this trip I was always a bit worried that I wouldnt really be into the bike riding side of things. Sure it sounded good, riding from town to town having adventures and solving mysteries but from other experiences I also knew it would be a hard slog. Constantly getting up each day and riding for long periods of time, eating basic food and covering in one day what, on a bus, would take about 1 hour to do.

But I think it was sometime during this day I started to find my groove. My legs were much stronger, I was feeling more energised and the hospitality and general interest shown towards us was much greater and more welcomming than that shown to the tourist cruising through on the usual modes of transport. While we hadn't solved any mysteries yet, I wasnt cursing every bus, motorbike and paraplegic on a skateboard that would inevitably overtake me.

We rounded a few bends and Spider got his first glance of the Med. I was super excited to see the ocean again, dang I missed it. We cruised past it and through massive citrus groves. Had the lunch of the touri finishing off some great sandwhiches with a stack of oranges.,

Soon we moved back onto the main highway heading towards Iskenderun. And into some juicy pollution. It seemed to be stuck between the hills and the ocean and there wasnt a sea breeze to get rid of it. Cough cough hack hack.

Soon enough it was getting late in the arvo and we were still in the town. No good places out of the way for the tent. Things were getting a touch desparate. We rode to a quıeter looking area with the idea to pitch the tent amongst some pine trees. But better yet, there was a large abandoned building ahead that was calling our names. We quickly got the bikes inside and sure that we hadnt been spotted got settled in for the night.

Good riding today got up 77km on the board.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 80; dbt: 0.1778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb