Methuselah On The Move - Update 7 (Istanbul Interlude)


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
September 24th 2013
Published: September 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Basilica CisternBasilica CisternBasilica Cistern

Inside the Basilica Cistern which is underground. It was a water catchment and storage facility during the Byzantine period.
Istanbul Interlude

Resting in Istanbul for a few days. Things went sort of pear shape at the end of the Kyrgyzstan leg of the tour – all my own fault. On Saturday night after the end of tour dinner I got into a Vodka drinking session. Went to be well and truly under the weather. Had to be woken and dragged to the airport – at least I sobered up enough to make the flight. One person was not so lucky – wasn’t allowed on the aircraft. You’d think after 60 years I would have learned! Anyway got to Istanbul safely. Still had the toothache and had already decided I would see a dentist in Stambul.

After arrival at the airport (and Mandy you were right about the line at Visas) I made it through immigration and customs fairly quickly (had an EVisa). Longest delay – about 10 min was waiting for baggage. Booked a shuttle from the airport to Hotel and return. Will be picked up at 07:30 in the morning. Arrived at the hotel 24 hours early but got a room for the same rate as I got when I booked through Expedia. Since I
Basilica CisternBasilica CisternBasilica Cistern

Kneeling beside one of the Medusa faces in the cistern. There are two on adjacent columns, one lying side ways the other (this one) upside down.
last stayed here the hotel has been extended – however I got the same room as 2 ½ years ago, with the same view of a blank wall. Can recommend the hotel – clean, comfortable and central to everything in the Sultanahamet area. Just a stones throw from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofya.

Sunday morning (just after I arrived) was a loss. Slept most of the morning – the toothache in the upper jaw which was sinus based had cleared up - at sea level – therefore normal pressure. However still had a really bad one on the lower r/h side – last molar. In the afternoon I just wet for a stroll around the area soaking up the atmosphere etc. Quiet dinner and couple of drink, then early to bed. A dead day.

Yesterday after I got up was prepared for a make and mend or, administration day. Went to the dentist indicated by the hotel staff to find that he wouldn’t be there till 13:00. So went to do other things. Chemist – I had lost my Spiriva Inhaler a couple of weeks ago so went to get a new one. Showed them the box
The HipperdromeThe HipperdromeThe Hipperdrome

The Egyptian Column within the area of the hippodrome. For those who don't know the hippodrome was the area of Roman cities where the chariot and horse races were held.
and explained what I wanted = given a box with an Inhaler and a month’s supply of capsules. In addition I got a pack of Panadol for the tooth. No script – and it cost me 35 TL (Turkish Lira – roughly AUD18.

After the dentist I went to the Grand Bazaar and purchased a few shirts. I was sick of wearing my old “fat” shirts and looking like a bag of shit. Also had a haircut – with everything thrown in: manicure, beard trim, neck and shoulder massage, etc. Won’t say how much it cost – but it was the most expensive haircut I’ve ever had. Felt good after though. One thing they did do which surprised me was stick hot wax in my ears and removing all my ear hairs. Don’t know how women can have waxing done. It bloody well hurt – like getting a dressing ripped off a hairy chest.

Eventually got in to see the dentist = turned out I had a gum infection around the r/h low rear molar. The dentist gave me a script for some antibiotics and analgesics. All up I was probably in there for 10 minutes. I asked how much I owed him – his reply was No Cost. Bloody hell that would never happen in Australia, or as a Seth Efrican said last night nor in South Africa where dentists are millionaires. Back to the pharmacy for more tablets. Cost me 17TL. That is about $9. I had to go back this am as I lost one of the foils of analgesics (probably in the Grand Bazaar) when I dropped a bag. Still had the script (original and copy) and given a new box – I’ve still got the scripts.

After that it was a bit of tourist stuff. Wandered around the Hippodrome, Sultanahamet, and in the late afternoon went into the Aya Sofia. Yesterday when waiting for the dentist to open I visited the Basilica Cistern mainly to get better quality pictures which I did successfully. It is of note that there is a lot of restoration and conservation work being carried out on some of the monuments at present. The Aya Sofya has scaffolding taking up about a third of the main chamber.

Anyway – it was good to visit Istanbul again – it is one of the cities in the world I love. Just enjoy walking around, or just sitting and watching the world go by. One thing of note though: there is something that you hear regularly (like all the time) in Istanbul which was hardly ever heard in Central Asia (probably only three times that I can remember) – an American accent. Wasn’t missed in Central Asia. Istanbul was crowded today – a couple of cruise ships were in.

That’s about it for this update. Tomorrow I’m off to Tehran (with a slightly less severe toothache) – which I think I have already said. Oh by the way had a delightful meal tonight at a seafood restaurant. Had a meal there 2 ½ years ago and loved it. That time I had monk fish (one bloody ugly fish). Tonight I had a Scorpion Fish done in butter and olive oil with chili and spices. I’m still savouring the taste. Can highly recommend the restaurant (listening Mandy) – Akbiyik Fish Restaurant – they have their own website.

Advertisement



26th September 2013

Hope the toothache has cleared up. Loving the blog, I must get to Istanbul myself, had a number of Turkish friends in London but have never visited. Looking forward to hearing about Iran. Stay safe mate. Colin

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb