Enigmatic Istanbul. Sultanahmet


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
February 27th 2013
Published: February 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Blue MosqueBlue MosqueBlue Mosque

Amazing Mosque. It is so quiet and peaceful inside of it
It has been longtime since I decided to go to Istanbul. I used to check everyday flights, hotels information and tourism blogs. But, finally I bought my ticket for December 2012.

I did this travel by my own.. "Are you crazy?; how could you dare to travel by yourself, a woman, in an islamic country?". But, trust me, it has been amazing!!

First of all, the city is just gorgeous; I have too many words to describe Istanbul: all is full of colors, magical, exotic, enigmatic.. I was so excited since I landed at the Atatürk airport; but I had some trouble with turkish language. I took the subway until Meter station and then metrobus until Acibadem station. That was so hard 'cause my pronunciation in turkish was awful, and nobody could speak english (I have to explain that on Asian side it's not very commmon to find turkish people who speaks english). Finally I met this guy from Couchsourfing at the Acibdaem station as we had planned before, and took me dinner: Kebab my first dish in Istanbul and Ayran (I loved Ayran: refreshing drink with yoghurt, salt and water).

Next day: Sultanahmet! My first visit was
Blue MosqueBlue MosqueBlue Mosque

We have to take the shoes off; there is an space for tourists, we can only watch muslims pray
to Aya Sofia. I was in shock! I did see many pcitures from Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque, but at that moment, I couldn't explain what I was looking at; they're gorgeous. I took my shoes off once I entered to Blue Mosque, it is a very peaceful place.

One of the best moments of my trip: To listen from the mosques at the same time a kind of arabic song that calls people to pray

At the end of the day, I visited Topkapi Palace, the place where sultans used to live. It is huge but quite interesting to visit it.

Bad thing: It was december, so sunset is earlier and my tourist day used to end at 5:00 pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Aya SofiaAya Sofia
Aya Sofia

Basilica's second level
SultanahmetSultanahmet
Sultanahmet

Aya Sofia besides me
Topkapi PalaceTopkapi Palace
Topkapi Palace

This drink is Sahlep, it is hot and delicious


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb