It is very cold


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
March 11th 2012
Published: March 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

11 March 2012 4:50 MDT (12:50 local)



A major reason I came on this trip was to see Hagia Sofia. I had huge expectations, and they were largely met. The dome itself was less than expected (little decoration, windows more understated than pictures suggest, easy to forget how old it is). The mosaics were more than expected. They were largely not on the ceiling, but on the walls of the upper gallery. I tend not to appreciate mosaics, but these transcended my tastes to wow me. The stone work was exquisite. The history was understated but there: "this was where the empress would stand during mass" "this is where the roman emperors and empresses were crowned". I think it is now my third favorite place I have ever been behind Sistine Chapel and John Brown's fort.

It is very cold. After Hagia Sofia I walked back to hotel ( found it!), bought a ring of bread, and will take a nap upon finishing this. American food uses sesame seeds as a decoration. When they are used generously for their flavor - it is not that yummy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb