Full Circle


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Kadıköy
January 2nd 2012
Published: January 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I’m back in Istanbul, at least for a few days. For someone who prefers walking through woods to walking through crowds, this city sure does have a hold on me; I haven’t been able to stay away for more than a month. It feels so good to be here, so comfortable. From the moment I spotted the Bosphorus from 30,000 feet in the air, a shit-eating grin crept onto my face and I haven’t been able to wipe the thing off since, even though my cheek muscles are starting to spasm from overuse. The Bosphorus is absolutely magical. I can’t describe it. And I can’t count the hours I’ve spent on its banks: running, walking, reading, but mostly just sitting and staring at Istanbul’s famous landmarks –Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapı Palace, Süleymaniye Mosque, Galata Tower – lined up like women waiting their turn for the toilet. I’ll never get tired of that view.

The first time I came to Istanbul, I had no idea what I was doing, or where I was going. I was just running, without direction. I think it’s only natural that I ran in a circle, back to the place and the people who opened my eyes to why I was running in the first place. Now, I have a path – a mission, a goal to attain – that I can walk slowly down. It’s only right that I should begin my journey again, here. It’s a new year and a new start.

Next stop: Jerusalem.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb