Eceabat


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Gallipoli
April 26th 2011
Published: May 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday we drove North to Eceabat via a quick stop at Troy. We put the tents up on a cold and windy beach next to Boomerang Bar where me and Holly shocked the bar man by ordering hot chocolate - apparently not the done thing at an Aussie bar where beer can be drunk at quick speed via funnels.

Next day we had an Easter Egg hunt on the truck and then I strolled into town with Missy where we sampled an unidentified sugary snack (if baklava is pastry with syrup, this was syrup with a bit of pastry stirred in?!) At 5pm we drove up to Gallipoli for the ANZAC day dawn service. After finding dinner and seats, we had World War 1 music and Gallipoli documentaries over the loud speakers from 8:30pm until 5:30am!! I sat in my plastic seat until around 11pm before horizontal sleep beckoned and I found a lovely grass verge and some friendly Turkish food vendors who let me roll onto their blanket, where I slept soundly until I heard 'The Lord is My Shepherd' being sung in the distance. After the dawn service we walked 2km to the Australian service and then a further 3km to the New Zealand service with a quick stop at the Turkish service on route. We finally got back to camp around 3pm, all ready to eat and sleep!

Previously lacking in ANZAC day knowledge, it was really interesting to learn about this event and it's significance in Aussie, Kiwi, and Turk history. And I finally know what ANZAC and digger cookies in one of my favourite recipie books are all about!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb