Troy


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Canakkale
June 6th 2012
Published: June 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Left in the morning for Troy today. I hate taking day tours where you basically fly around a site at breakneck speed with a bunch of other Americans. What's the point? It separates you from the very people and culture you came so far to see. So I took a dolmus, which is basically a communal bus. It was hilarious too - full of old people and young just sitting around talking as we made our way about 30 minutes through the countryside to Troy. I didn't know what they were saying, but that really wasn't the point. Turks I've noticed are a very kind and polite people who have a strong sense of hospitality (they're always offering me free Turkish tea!). They're also always willing to lend a helping hand, if you need one.

Then we got to Ancient Troy, which was where supposedly the Trojan War was fought. If you've read The Iliad you know what I'm talking about: Helen, Paris, Achilles, Hector, the Trojan Horse. And it was a huge site. The Troy of the Trojan War was actually just one settlement among about 12 (I think it was Troy 6). The last to live here were the Romans. Very fun to just walk around. I spent nearly 4 hours doing so, and then caught the Dolmus back to Canakkale.

One thing, though, that I've noticed: there are a lot of stray cats in Turkey. At Troy when I had lunch five or so just sat there and watched me eat, begging for food. One just stared at me the whole time. It's not smart to feed them since then more and more come after that. And they're not like the cats in the States. These cats are kinda creepy, and you feel like you probably wouldn't want to pet them. Anyway, got back and had some bass for dinner. A good day, but hot... I horribly burned the backs of my legs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The great plain at TroyThe great plain at Troy
The great plain at Troy

This is where the Greeks supposedly marched in from the sea in the distance.
Another gate Another gate
Another gate

This is supposedly the Scaen Gate, where Achilles and Hector fought in front of. This is also where Heinrich Shliemann, who found Troy in the late 1800s, uncovered what he called Priam's Treasure, a cash of gold and jewelry.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb