Gallipoli


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Canakkale
May 4th 2011
Published: May 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ataturk's PoemAtaturk's PoemAtaturk's Poem

Ataturk dedicated this poem to the mothers of Australian soldiers.
Sunday – Gallipoli
We knew today would be special. We knew today would be emotional. We knew today that we would always carry this memory – we didn’t know how it would all unfold……
Enis who is extremely clever, told the story of Gallilpoli and its battle in a sensitive and respectful way – the Turks lost more men they we did and so it is also a place where many Turks honour their dead….
We all stayed on the bus while on the ferry – there were many many buses and we all filed off and onto the road….until we came to Anzac Cove. A tiny stretch of beach where they landed with no where to go. There is a large wall with the poem Ataturk wrote to the Australian mothers of sons who were killed there. It is moving….and then we went onto a small grassy slope where there are some headstones of soldiers killed there. The beach is tiny – madness to land there – and while we all grappled with that thought we all came together for a special moment.
Greg had told us that he had in his possession a copy of a letter from his
Anzac CoveAnzac CoveAnzac Cove

Site of the first landing
Great – great – uncle who had fought at Gallipoli, survived that but had died at 21 at Pozieres. He had written this letter right before going to Gallipoli. Greg had asked me to read it out at Anzac cove – a privilege and honour for me. I had practiced reading the letter several times as there are things in it that make you weep. Not only was he so young, but what he wrote was so typically Australian. A wonderful letter…..from Sgt Robert McHenry.
All of a sudden everyone but us (our group) disappeared and standing on the shore we gathered around and I read this letter out. It was quite a moment and as we all stood weeping for these young men I felt so Australian in a way I have never felt before. I am tearing up as I write this….I thank Greg so much for sharing this …... Like his Great Great uncle before him it was a gesture we all appreciated.
There’s not much more to say really….the Lone Pine cemetery still had the stands up from Anzac Day, the wreaths were still fresh – one stood out from St. Bedes – Mentone – so
Anzac CoveAnzac CoveAnzac Cove

Site of the second landing and the next 9 months.
far from home and yet there was a reminder for us. Chris had given us all poppies from the RSL and Brian and I looked amongst the headstones knowing with so many – we would find a Williams – and we did – he was 19 years old.



Advertisement



4th May 2011

How touching
Guys, I am not Australian but I also had tears in my eyes reading this. It reminded me of when we went to Normandy where the Normandy landings had taken place and we were touched also by the many who had died. I imagine this day will stay with you as a key memory of the trip. xxx
4th May 2011

How touching
Guys, I am not Australian but I also had tears in my eyes reading this. It reminded me of when we went to Normandy where the Normandy landings had taken place and we were touched also by the many who had died. I imagine this day will stay with you as a key memory of the trip. xxx
4th May 2011

Beautiful Debbie and very, very moving Love Annix
5th May 2011

Gallipoli
Wow, what an experience, something you will always remember. Debbie you are so good at this blog - you should be a writer!! I almost felt like I was standing on the beach listening to you read the poem. Have a great trip Willynobs!!
6th May 2011

Wow, thats sounds so amazing and emotional to be there and have that experience....

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb