Day 7 : Goreme (Cappadocia), Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Central Anatolia » Cappadocia
September 27th 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The shop of carpetThe shop of carpetThe shop of carpet

A very interesting shop that looked as if it was made entirely out of carpet.

No sleep and a very long drive. Not a good combination!!



There was little or no sleep for most of the group last night as we spent the last few hours of our time in Olympos at the local ‘Bull Bar’. It seemed as though only minutes passed from the time my head hit the pillow to when my alarm went off in the morning, forcing me to get up and start packing my things to leave. The fact that I probably had only an hours sleep probably wasn’t going to be a good thing - but leaving at 5am to spend the whole of the next day driving - wasn’t going to be very good for my personality either.

Cappadocia was one of those places that I was eagerly anticipating when I pictured my holiday to Turkey - and it certainly didn’t disappoint upon my initial glances. We arrived quite late in the afternoon but had enough time to catch a fleeting glimpse of the limestone caves and trogoldyte rock formations before making our way to our aptly named Flinstones Cave Motel.

Once again, it should come as no surprise to know that I opted for the
My cave roomMy cave roomMy cave room

A step up from camping. This is our 'cave room' that I shared with three other girls in our group. It came complete with spa bath - the only option when camping....
upgrade and selected one of the cave rooms with spa bath & separate shower. (I have since decided that this truly is the best way to go camping). After a very brief evening wander around the town, the highlight of which was my discovery that the local pastry shop served illy coffee. I returned to my room, filled up the spa bath, read my book and spent some much needed quality timeout with myself.






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Bedouin dressBedouin dress
Bedouin dress

A very beautiful & intricately made head piece worn by Bedouin women.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb